CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
  1. #1
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Electrical Q's 1977 FXE

    I'm having some wiring issues on my 1977 FXE, pretty stock but the previous owner claimed he cleaned up the wiring. Not quite true and I was going through everything and was hoping some of you could help me out.

    The current wiring, as far as I can tell and have traced, is this:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2022-10-22 at 17.20.04.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	26.2 KB 
ID:	109396

    I wanted to eliminate the current starter button from the set-up and change out the 2-point ignition switch to a spring-back ignition switch from lowbrow. (https://www.lowbrowcustoms.com/colle...h-chrome-bezel).

    So my question is #1 is this feasible with the current set-up and #2 how would it wire up, the spring back ignition set-up is different and I'm not sure here? See image below:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2022-10-22 at 17.13.07.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	27.0 KB 
ID:	109397

    Any help here would be much appreciated.

  2. #2
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    2,441

    Default

    For your new ignition switch, the red wire from the terminal strip would go to the battery post on the switch. The yellow wire from the starter solenoid would go to the start post on the switch. The circuit breaker inputs, the purple and gray wires on your diagram (I think, hard to see on my phone) would be connected to the ignition post on the switch. You will have lights on all the time this way.

    Some of these aftermarket ignition switches are intended for use on boats and have a ground post that is activated in the start position. DO NOT wire anything to this ground post.

    On the subject of breakers:
    Your previous owner, in "cleaning up" the wiring on this bike, eliminated the main (30A) breaker. In my opinion, that is a BIG mistake. The main breaker normally hangs off the positive battery post on a little buss bar.

    Since you apparently have no turn lamps or other accessories, the accessory breaker is going unused in your diagram. You can remove the brass connector bar that goes between the ignition breaker and the accessory breaker. Then you can replace the accessory breaker with a 30A breaker and use it for the main breaker. The red wire shown, from the starter solenoid to the terminal block should be run to the batt post of this main breaker, and then from that breaker to the post on the terminal block. Or, eliminate the terminal block entirely and run the red wire from the main breaker to the battery terminal on your new ignition switch. The red wire from the starter solenoid is NOT breaker protected and should be insulated carefully and isolated to prevent physical damage, like being rubbed and chafed.

    Jim

  3. #3
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Hi Jim,

    I was messing around with it today and tested a few directions and ended up with the same conclusion as you, and it all seemed to work. Yellow Wire from Solenoid to S (start post on switch) and then Red Wire to B (battery) and then I put both accessory wires Purple/Gray Wire to the A (Lights/ignition post). All worked and it has no issues. Cranks over and both headlight and tail light is on.

    "I apologize for the super low quality images - for some reason they both uploaded that way.

    On the breakers, thank you so much for your insight. I have also read that it would be beneficial to add a 30A breaker off the positive terminal and not quite sure why my bike hasn't got one. I think I'll do as you suggested and add a 30A breaker off the positive terminal and remove the two 15A accessory breakers+connector bar for a single 30A Accessory breaker. I will definitely go over the red wire from the solenoid and double check/insulate and isolate it.

  4. #4
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    2,441

    Default

    Don't remove both of the breakers that are connected by the brass strip. One is the ignition breaker and one is the accessory breaker. The accessory breaker is the one you can remove. Leave the ignition breaker wired as it is now. This gives you two breaker protected circuits, one for ignition and one for lighting. That way, if your lighting shorts out (like the rear tire scooping the taillamp wires out from under the fender), you will still have ignition and can probably ride home.

    Jim

  5. #5
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Hi Jim,
    So currently this is the set up with the breakers:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2022-10-23 at 20.49.23.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	25.7 KB 
ID:	109409

    and if I have understood you correctly, this would be the updated set up? Swapping out the two 15A breakers for a single 30A for the accessories, in this case the headlight and tail light & brake switch.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2022-10-23 at 20.51.31.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	26.1 KB 
ID:	109410

  6. #6
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    2,441

    Default

    Yes, but leave the two breakers pictured to be 15A, as they are now. Add a 30A breaker as the main breaker.

    This is all standard HD practice. You need to study an HD wiring diagram. They knew what they were doing.

    Jim

  7. #7
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Sounds good Jim, will do. Thank you again for the information and the guidance, I appreciate the help
    Dan

Share This



Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in