CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search

Default Just Another Budget Evo Sporty Chop Build Thread

What's up guys, I'm gonna start posting my build progress on my Sportster here so I don't flood Instagram with it. I've been riding for the past 7 years but mainly messed with 70s Hondas. I've had a couple of Harleys, but I'm finally at a point where I have the patience to actually see something go from the ground up and stick with it.

The bike started as a 1986 Sportster 1100 with the 4-speed transmission. Here's a pic of the day I picked her up from a guy here in Phoenix. It was around September 2017.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dayigotit.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	304.6 KB 
ID:	92167

It had awful chrome skeleton hand mirrors, a 98 XL1200 tank, solo seat, different front wheel, custom pipes, but ran great. I putted around on it for a few months making minor upgrades here and there.

I swapped the seat for a Prism Supply king & queen, and my friend welded me up a ridiculously tall (for a swingarm bike anyway) sissy bar.

Name:	swingarm1.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	296.6 KB 
ID:	92168

Name:	swingarm2.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	305.2 KB 
ID:	92169

I bought a house in April of 2018 and finally had a place to take it all apart and not get in trouble with my landlord. I started tearing it apart in January 2019. Here's a pic of the bare frame.

Name:	bareframe.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	303.8 KB 
ID:	92170

I decided to go with the Haifley Bros hard tail, and since I'm conveniently in Phoenix where they are based, I dropped the frame off at their shop and had them weld it on. I don't know how to weld and don't have a garage. I work on this bike on my back porch and spare bedroom.

Name:	hardtail.jpg 
Size:	299.8 KB 
ID:	92171

I sprayed it with a couple cans of gloss black Krylon. Doesn't look the best, but this is a budget build and I'm not building a show bike. I'm maxed out on pics for this post so I'll continue below.

Rattle canned frame:

Name:	rattlecanframe.jpg