Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tunacantom
    • Apr 2018

'67 Iron Chop

Hey there folks. Figured it was finally time to make some sort of build thread so people know I do things other than crank my hog all day long. Also figured it'd be good so I can ask you fine gentlemen questions about things I have little to no experience with. Anyways, I'll start with a quick background on me and then start talking about the two-wheeled-dude-magnet.

My name's Tommy but my friends call me Tom. I'm 21 years of age residing in Boston, MA and I'm a third year Mechanical Engineering student at Wentworth Institute of Technology. I grew up in my dad's auto body shop lending him a hand with all his cool projects (mostly crusty old VW's) where I kind of learned what I'm doing. Alongside that I grew up on a BMX bike so it made sense that I'd continue on two wheels with the addition of a big vibrator when I came of age. First bike I bought was a 2000 Sporty that I did some typical bolt-on things to; but those things just weren't enough for me to be satisfied, so I decided to start looking for a project bike.

Knew I wanted to build a chopper, knew I wanted it to be lean and clean, and knew I didn't have too much money to spend. Shortly after starting my hunt, I found a pretty sweet 1967 XLCH in an old Paughco frame that didn't run in Connecticut...for too much money; but, that didn't stop ME. I went back and forth with the guy for a while trying to get some information on the thing but he didn't have any. Turns out is was his dad's bike and his dad died a few years back and the bike had been sitting. Asked him if he had the title and he said he did! Unfortunately, the title he had was already signed and dated for sale to someone else...in 2008...and not even to his dad, but to the guy before the guy who sold it to his dad. I knew this could turn into a headache later, but hey, I hate myself, figured why the hell not.