How to route cables? How to measure them correctly?

Collapse

Desktop Ad Forum Top

Collapse

Mobile ad top forum

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jbswear
    • Jul 2013

How to route cables? How to measure them correctly?

I need help routing and measuring for new throttle, clutch, and speedo cables. My build is a heavily raked (54*) chopper. Speedo is off the 4-speed. Clutch is hand, not foot. I'm nervous because I don't want to measure, order, and then find out I fucked up. I've never done this before.

I'm running 12" apes with 6" risers. My carb sticks off the right side of the engine on a 90* elbow manifold (gives my short fucking legs clearance so I can reach the pegs without hitting the carb).

The clutch cable doesn't worry me *too* much. I think I have it figured out, and it isn't as much of a challenge--there's no spinning cable inside and I can route it straight through. I think.

The speedo cable worries me because I don't want to kink it. How much curve do I need in it (when changing directions, and where)?

Because the carb is not tucked in near the frame, I don't think hugging the frame will work cleanly. I'm wondering about hugging the apes with them (dual cable setup) and then letting it hang in a gentle loop from the bottom of the bars to the carb.

Any thoughts, gents?

And then, once I route them, how do I measure them? End to end? Connection (at throttle/clutch post) to connection (carb/clutch arm)?

Bike is in the video link.

This weekend was the first in 36 years that the engine ran well. It's idling low here, but I've since hooked up the tach and set the idle to about 1200rpm.S...
  • Tattooo
    • Sep 2012

Use a piece of wire so it will stay the shape you need that's routed the way you described above..........

Comment

• jbswear
      • Jul 2013

Right, I got that. I'm sorry I wasn't more clear on my needs. I know how to get the length but I'm worried about taking the right path.

Does that make sense?

Comment

• Tattooo