CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  1. #1
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default 1977 FXE shovelhead loose new primary chain

    Hello, I have a 1977 FXE Shovelhead and had some slapping rattles coming from the primary housing. I removed the on shoe tension it was a little worn but not bad for how old it looked. I replaced the shoes and the chain because even on the highest notch the chain was loose. It was fine for the a few miles but then the noise started again, I figured the new chain just loosened up but it turns out the shoe worn down and broke into pieces. I replaced it but the chain is still loose on the night notch. My chain is the stock 82-link and I think everything else is stock, but I can't figure out why the chain is so loose? I read in the manual that you can invert the tensioner but not sure how that would work, or can I get a primary chain master link and shorten the chain?
    Thanks in advance for any help it's driving me crazy.

  2. #2
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    167

    Default

    Transmission moved a bit??

  3. #3
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dinnertimedave View Post
    Transmission moved a bit??
    I did install a kick start on it but other then that haven't touched it, I would I know if it has or where it has or how to fix it, thanks?

  4. #4
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12,407

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dinnertimedave View Post
    Transmission moved a bit??

    Inside an enclosed primary??? How could that happen???

  5. #5
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12,407

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RadVentures View Post
    I would I know if it has or where it has or how to fix it, thanks?
    It hasn't moved, unless the motor and trans are loose.... and even then it wouldn't affect the adjusting of the chain... Well if it was about to fall off it might........

    Can you post a pic of the inside of your primary??????

  6. #6
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    167

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tattooo View Post
    Inside an enclosed primary??? How could that happen???
    Bolts loosened on mine, to be fair I only noticed it when I stripped it for major rebuild. I was thinking along the lines of loose bolts, possible elongated holes??. Hey, I haven't seen the bike either...........

  7. #7
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12,407

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dinnertimedave View Post
    Bolts loosened on mine, to be fair I only noticed it when I stripped it for major rebuild. I was thinking along the lines of loose bolts, possible elongated holes??. Hey, I haven't seen the bike either...........
    I see........ I hope you tighten your bolts tighter now......... I'd use lock washers if I were you...... Good luck........ I still don't think that is his problem......


    What about some pics of the bikes primary?????

  8. #8
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default Pictures

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1878.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	203.3 KB 
ID:	71997Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1880.jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	200.5 KB 
ID:	71998Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1877.jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	193.9 KB 
ID:	71999Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1875.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	186.2 KB 
ID:	72000

  9. #9
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12,407

    Default

    I think you have the wrong chain.........

  10. #10
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12,407

    Default

    You can put your shoe in the other two holes and put the bolt at the bottom of the chain........ I've done that before to get by........

  11. #11
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default

    this is the one that is on there...Click image for larger version. 

Name:	$_57.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	198.5 KB 
ID:	72001

  12. #12
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12,407

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RadVentures View Post
    this is the one that is on there...Click image for larger version. 

Name:	$_57.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	198.5 KB 
ID:	72001
    But that doesn't mean it's the right chain....... It could be the wrong chain in the box....... Or it could be made wrong........
    What ever it is it's the wrong chain......

  13. #13
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tattooo View Post
    But that doesn't mean it's the right chain....... It could be the wrong chain in the box....... Or it could be made wrong........
    What ever it is it's the wrong chain......
    Ok the parts manual says it's a 4007-36a but doesn't say how many links...when I go on-line the number comes up with 82 links and that is what I have but are there different sized links? I found a drag specialties C226t3/002 would that be the right one?

  14. #14
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Is there a chance the front sprocket is smaller or changed from a stock, is it supposed to be 22 or 23 tooth?

  15. #15
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Does the Sprocket teeth change the size, like if I have a 23tooth vs a 24th would that take up slack or are they the same size diameter?

  16. #16
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12,407

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RadVentures View Post
    Does the Sprocket teeth change the size, like if I have a 23tooth vs a 24th would that take up slack or are they the same size diameter?
    Yes it will change the chain size........

  17. #17
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12,407

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RadVentures View Post
    Is there a chance the front sprocket is smaller or changed from a stock, is it supposed to be 22 or 23 tooth?


    They had different sizes depending on which bike it is..... Side car bikes were even smaller..

  18. #18
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Thanks tattoo...I will grab a new chain and figure out what sprocket I have!

  19. #19
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12,407

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RadVentures View Post
    Thanks tattoo...I will grab a new chain and figure out what sprocket I have!
    The chains are usually the right size for various sprockets..... But I think the chains are being made the wrong size today... I'm not sure if you can buy a link or two smaller wouldn't work out better.......

  20. #20
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    9,801

    Default

    Chains should be referred to by number of links, not "size" which is not a precise term for chain.

    You can convert (un-worn) chain pitch to feet but counting links is easier:

    http://www.diamondchain.com/diamond-...cal-corner.php

    You could contact Diamond if you want to try a chain with fewer links since they can custom make any size, but before I tried that I'd shorten a throwaway chain to check fit (NOT to run!) so you don't order a chain you can't use.

    EDIT:

    If the chain wraps around the sprockets normally it's wildly unlikely to be the wrong pitch.

    Components and how to measure:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8_dw23nJsCM

    Center pin to center pin distance does not change with wear on motorcycle chains because the pins do not float.

    You can therefore take a correct, but worn out, chain and derive all the meaurements you need.
    Last edited by farmall; 09-11-2016 at 4:30 PM.

Share This



Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in