X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • VanBreezy
    • Jul 2014

Dixie Standard Driving Lamp on a '14 883 Iron

Hey everyone,

So my wife picked up this Dixie Standard driving lamp at a swap meet here in PDX a couple weeks ago. I have a rudimentary knowledge of electrical shit and figured it wouldn't be too hard to wire this up to her bike, however when I pulled the stock headlight and tried to test the connection I didn't get anything from any of the wires. The filament in the bulb is intact as well, so I know that's not the issue.

I figured it might be due to there only being a single wire, but again, I'm no electrician so I don't know if that means shit. Anywho, a more knowledgeable opinion than mine would be greatly appreciated. She's in love with the rectangle headlight look and it'd be rad to get this to work for her. Thanks!

Here's the headlamp:

• mattressking
    • Jan 2015

Pretty simple to wire it up. First you need to determine which is power/ground on the new lamp. Once you have them marked you need to go into the bike and sort out the wiring.

Since the lamp you have doesn't have a high beam, you need to disregard the highbeam wire off your harness.

Yellow wire = low beam

White = high beam

Black = ground

Connect ground to ground, and low beam to your power wire on new lamp. Your high beam will no longer work, but the lamp will illuminate as it should this route.

Comment

• KeysRyder
      • Oct 2014

Put 12v dc to the wire, and ground the housing, should work. Obviously he didn't read your post about the one wire. You could use a large lug terminal under your mount post as the ground and run a wire from it to the ground wire of your oem harness. Many different ways, what ever works for you.