Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • nowhitebelts
    • Jul 2010

Build: 1978 Shovelhead Chopper

I'm diving into a ground up rebuild of my 1978 FXS and will try to document it fully here.

Pictures of how it stood last week below. Teardown is now underway.

What I currently have planned is the following, overall I'm going for a clean & simple build with some nice details that rides and handles well:

- Hard-Tail: Looking to go for a OEM style hardtail, either VCP or Fab Kevin. I have a TIG, but prefer to leave the hardtail job to a Pro since I am still learning welding technique. If you have a recommendation for a shop in the San Francisco area that you'd recommend to do the hardtail conversion, let me know.
    - Mild motor rebuild: Compression is low, starts easy, but it clearly hasn't had real love in a while. It's my first engine build so I'm planning a mostly stock motor with minor enhancements for better oiling and engine life, I will be asking a lot of questions here and your help is much appreciated! Any must have mild mods you want to suggest are welcome I will also be putting an engine thread on shovelhead.us for that build specifically. I have a friend who builds aircraft mags and he's offered to hotrod a magneto for me, may go with a repop Burkhardt if my budget allows it. I'm currently planning on keeping the SU, but we'll see as things shape up, it's awesome but huge.
    - Belt Drive Conversion: Planning on switching to an open 2" Primo.
    - Narrowed Fatbobs or a Mustang Tank: I want to use the original tank if it makes sense and do the fab myself. Should be fun/frustrating.
    - Wheels: Mags, looking for an 18" Morris rear if you have one. will likely run the stock 19 up front. Disks front and rear.
    - Other: Looking at a 4" over 39mm front end, Sprung solo seat, Sissy bar, Mids, may build my own pipes and whatever else sounds good along the way.