CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
Page 1 of 6 123 ... Last

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Default TECH: Paint Without Spending A Fortune

Right now is not the time to be spending a ton of dough, so after thinking a lot about it, i decided to save some money and paint my tins myself. I took a trip to my local paint store and picked up some HOK supplies, and got to work. This is my first time picking up a spray gun by the way.

doing the bodywork wasn't too painful. the welds were good, and the tank was fairly straight, even after all the cutting and welding. I used 2K high build rattle can primer as suggested by sure. its about $15 per can, and i used an entire can for both the tank and the fender.

i dug out my old easy-up tent that was about to be tossed in the trash, put up some painters plastic, and used paper drop cloth for the floor. cut a hole in one side of the plastic and duct taped an air conditioning filter over it, and did the same on the opposite wall with a floor fan. about $30 in plastic and a $3 filter.

i took a trip to Rays Auto Paint, and spent $150 on black base, clear, hardener, reducer, a few filters, and some tape.

now, i know that a really nice gun is well worth the money you spend on it, but i used a gun my dad picked up on sale at northern tool last year for under $20. it came with a 1.4 tip, and since i dont know the difference between this and a pricey pro model, i'd say this was the perfect tool for my budget paint job. the compressor i used is a small home garage model, nothing special.

laid down a base that i mixed at 1:1 paint/reducer. i only mixed enough to fill my hopper half full, and that was too much. i wouldnt mix too much at a time because you'll end up having to dump it. i keep all of my unused or old chemicals until the mobile chem recycler comes to my neck of the woods. they're always happy to take it, and it keeps it out of the gutter.