CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Default Advice for a newb....

Hey all, I am new to the scene, long time admirer, but its time to get my hand dirty and riding stock bikes wont do it anymore.

I am scootless right now. I have owned several Hondas and some older evos in the past and for the most part did all my own wrenching. I work as a machinist so I know my way around tools and a shop, I am not the greatest wleder my brother is and he has been teaching me.

Anyhow, I want to build a 70's style chop, probably evo or shovelhead powered.

Whats the best(i.e. cheapest, I am broke all the time) to do this? Scour e-bay and craigslist for parts and rig it all up? Buy a used big twin and sell of what I don't want/need and keep what I do?

Any advice woudl greatly be appreciated.

Get Adobe Flash player

Probably the cheapest would be to chop a Evo softail. Plenty of them around cheap, plenty of parts and pretty much everything aftermarket is targeted at Evo softail. You can buy a chopper frame for under $1000 and some longer fork tubes and away you go.

Get Adobe Flash player

eBay probably not. Look though your local CL and find a sporty. You can pick up a basket case or even a non runner from someone that doesn't know much about bikes or are in over their heads and just wanna get rid of it. I see ironheads all the time on CL going for dirt cheap. I would start there.

Get Adobe Flash player

i think both of those guys have pointed you in the right direction.

Get Adobe Flash player

Thanks for the direction guys! I appreciate it.

I am new to Chop Cult and love this site, been on it probably everyday for the last week or so, a lot of good material here.

Are there any places on here where I can offer my services as a machinist in trade for work I might not do so well (like leather or paint as an example)?

Get Adobe Flash player