CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
Page 3 of 3 First 123
  1. #41
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,139

    Default

    on my rebel I cut new holes int eh timing plate and put it as far foreward as I could then locked it down with no further advance.

  2. #42
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    913

    Default

    I really need to get me a cheapo crappy bike to try this on now.. think my brothers got a few garrets lying in his shed somewhere..
    There really isnt more to it?

  3. #43
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    316

    Default

    Turbo is simple, if you can cut and weld an exhaust and an intake, thats all there is too it. I have built 3 turbo bikes over the years, first one being a blow through, other 2 were fuel injected.

  4. #44
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    913

    Default

    Im still gonna blow up my first attempt though.
    Welders are shitty mechanics!

  5. #45
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,139

    Default

    blow through carb was WAY easier then efi bike i did. just got to size all your stuff to the bike your doing. need a fuel pump thats low pressure and a regulator that will raise it 1:1. you can only go as much boost as your fuel pump will do pressure, so you really need a fuel pressure gauge. I got that, and a wide band O2 meter. once I had it tuned up, I took the wideband off the bike. the rebel was running 6lbs of boost. I never had it in a bike, but i hooked it up to a stock rear wheel and tire and would put the tire on a 2x4 to make resistance and a full throttle pull in 3rd gear was damn impressive to watch. I sold the whole setup to a guy with a rebel chopper, and never heard from him again.

  6. #46

    Default

    Hey could you help me to install a turbo to a 1941 indian scout engine?

  7. #47
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    404

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ibuiltmine View Post
    I got that, and a wide band O2 meter. once I had it tuned up, I took the wideband off the bike.
    What setup were you using for your wideband? I'm looking at putting together a portable wideband to help tune a couple carbed NA bikes in the stable.

  8. #48

    Default

    Turbonate. I'm in the process of putting a turbo on an sr250 but I need help understanding what to do with carb set up. Everything is hooked up and conected turbo wise. Just didn't know if you had any extra advise to what you've already said being is the motor is so small.

  9. #49

    Default

    Am I on the right track?


  10. #50

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cggorman View Post
    What setup were you using for your wideband? I'm looking at putting together a portable wideband to help tune a couple carbed NA bikes in the stable.
    I've installed and used a couple Innovate LC-1's when tuning cars with a DB gauge (just has a number readout) and the XD16 gauge (number readout and various color LED's along the outer edge lit up based on what the AFR is). But for datalogging and tuning I was able to have it hooked up to a laptop on the passenger seat... Can't really do that on a bike. lol. I believe the LM-2 can log multiple channels (RPM,AFR...) and store the data. And the LM-1 can as well but you need add on harnesses. I have also been looking into the Zeitronix ZT-2 that can log 4 channels of data at once. But, you have to buy a thumb drive add on to save the datalogs for analyzing on a laptop. Hope this helps.

  11. #51
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    1

    Default

    When boosting the bikes did you have to change engine internals like how you do in cars? Also do you need all the gauges/regulates like in cars as well(boost pressure, fuel pressure, motor oil pressure, turbo oil pressure?

  12. #52

    Default

    Could you possibly PM me some photos of your carb modifications? For some reason, they won't open for me on here.

  13. #53

    Default

    I canít view the photos for this walk thru, can you send them to me by chance?

  14. #54
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    11,091

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OlDirtyDoug View Post
    I can’t view the photos for this walk thru, can you send them to me by chance?
    You do know this thread is basically 8 years old right???

  15. #55

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by turbonate View Post
    now here is the key to the kingdom that makes this whole mess work right. i installed a pitot tube into the charge pipe with a flared end directly in front of the compressor outlet. now tie the hose from this into a y that feeds into the pressure port you put into the side of the carb, and the fitting on your boost referenced fuel pressure regulator. what this does is the flared tube creates a restriction in the intake path and the higher pressure generated is carried to the float bowl and fuel pressure regulator creating about a 1.3 to 1 float bowl to carb throat pressure differential causing a self enrichening condition under boost that will keep your pistons from having a thermonuclear malfunction. on my bike i'm making right at 10psi so i limited my total timing at 8 degrees shy of the stock max, it's been a couple of years since i set it all up, so i don't remember the exact numbers.
    Iím interested in this setup, but canít open the attached pics, can you send the pics another way?

  16. #56

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tmoney88 View Post
    I’m interested in this setup, but can’t open the attached pics, can you send the pics another way?
    I found a wealth of information on blow through turbo setups on google. I'm thinking about doing my Gl1100

  17. #57
    jadyta
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by turbonate View Post
    i'll try to list everything in the right order as the pictures

    the first thing you need is an electric fuel pump, i use a frame mount pump from an 89 f-150, they are available at any parts chain for about a bill. you can also see the fuel feed port i added to my tank in this picture.

    you'll also need a filezilla uc browser rufus good quailty return style boost referenced fuel pressure regulator, i use an aeromotive since i've had great success with them on my race cars

    , i guess it goes without saying that you'll need a return port in your tank as well, i used the stock pickup location as a return port.

    next you need to seal all the atmospheric vents on the carb and drill and tap it somewhere above the fuel level, i built a 4 into one manifold and used an old zenith i had.
    i've put almost 12000 miles on it and ridden it all over hell and creation with no issues other than getting some trash in the needle and seat outside of slidell la once.
    Last edited by jadyta; 10-15-2019 at 4:24 PM.

Share This



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in