CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Thread: Wiring pics.

  1. #1
    ARBY
    Guest

    Default Wiring pics.

    I'd like to see some pics of how you did your wiring. Interested in how and where you mounted circuit breakers and how you routed wires to make it look clean.

    My wiring always works but always looks like a plate of spaghetti.

  2. #2
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    118

    Default

    Under my seat.


  3. #3
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    389

    Default

    from this:


    to this:


    on my previos build i had all the connectors and breakers in a special space in my dyna gastank.
    but no pictures though..

  4. #4
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    480

    Default

    Damn fine wiring FUSC.

  5. #5
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    910

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ARBY View Post
    I'd like to see some pics of how you did your wiring. Interested in how and where you mounted circuit breakers and how you routed wires to make it look clean.

    My wiring always works but always looks like a plate of spaghetti.
    Hey Arby I'm finishing up a circuit breaker/switch box I'm milling out of 1.5" aluminum square stock. I should have pics of it tomorrow. It will house 3 circuit breakers and 1 toggle switch.

  6. #6
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    100

    Default

    Anytime I build a bike with an oil tank that has a battery box, I do this:



    You have to get on the ground to see it.

  7. #7
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    480

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by coryhebert View Post
    Anytime I build a bike with an oil tank that has a battery box, I do this:



    You have to get on the ground to see it.
    That looks good too.

  8. #8
    ARBY
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BullDog View Post
    Hey Arby I'm finishing up a circuit breaker/switch box I'm milling out of 1.5" aluminum square stock. I should have pics of it tomorrow. It will house 3 circuit breakers and 1 toggle switch.
    Great, thanks. would love to see it. Thanks to all so far. Keep it coming . I'll be rewiring my bike and I need all the good ideas I can get. I'll post a pic of my current rats nest tonight.

  9. #9
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    910

    Default

    Here's what I got so far. Doesn't look like much yet but it's gonna hold all the 'goods', 3 circuit breakers and a 3 position-2 pole switch. It will mount to the seat post on the ol' Shovelwhore.

    Started out as a solid 1.5" chunk of 6061 aluminum. The 'notches' are just wide enough for each breaker and they'll be held in place with some clear silicone.

    I'll start working on the lid tomorrow. I'm hoping I can rummage around and find a decent piece of 1/4" brass flat stock.

    More later...



    Last edited by BullDog; 12-08-2010 at 8:14 PM.

  10. #10
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    910

    Default

    Forgot to mention....If you're looking for this type of 'box' but can't machine it, you can also use 1.5" aluminum or steel square tubing. You'd just have to weld a plate on each end of the tubing, then cut your opening down the length of the tube etc.,.

  11. #11
    ARBY
    Guest

    Default

    Cool. where are you gonna mount it?

  12. #12
    ARBY
    Guest

    Default

    Here's my disaster. I'm ashamed, but planning on cleaning it up.



  13. #13
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    910

    Default

    I'm running a mag so my original coil mount on the seat post is where I'll mount the box. If your coil is still mounted there you might find enough room under the tranny, maybe bolt it on the stiffner plate? or just about anyplace you can find the room.

    Hell man, don't be ashamed, I've had way worse shit-house wiring on a couple of mine...haha.
    Last edited by BullDog; 12-08-2010 at 9:28 PM.

  14. #14
    billdozer
    Guest

    Default

    Here's a little box I made out of some existing open box that was in the fence section at my local Ace. I added a tab on one side which gets a bolt/nut and welded a bolt through the inside (so I don't have to reach down through wires to hold the other end) and it bolts up to the rear of the trans plate. My friend Fredo made me a neat leather cap to cover the open top, I just haven't taken pics of that part yet. Two circuit breakers and a kill switch for the mag, and a capacitor inside the box.

    IMG_6396

    IMG_6397

    IMG_6395

  15. #15
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    910

    Default

    Nice set up Bill.

  16. #16
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2,378

    Default

    Mine doesn't look as good as others, but this is for everything on the bike. Ignition, coil, headlight, taillight, and turn signals and it all sits behind the headlight completely hidden. Makes it a pain in the ass to work on, but it works. Went from however many what seems like hundreds of wires from the touring bike down to 18 if I remember right. If I get rid of the signals it'll lose a few more. I didn't do the drill trick because I'm a cheap fuck and I didn't want to buy any extra wire, so I just twisted it by hand keeping them tight together and added some shrink tube in the middle of the longer sections to mark colors if needed and to help keep them together too.

    Something Billdozer recommended that I have done now is to put some Liquid Electrical tape on the nuts of the breakers. The nut for the hot lead on my lights breaker came loose at the worse possible time in the middle of the night about 100 miles from home.


  17. #17
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1,065

    Default

    Here is thebeginning of mine- A Square D A/C circuit breaker box I got at Menards for 9 bucks. It has the fusebox, all switches and the ground lug.


  18. #18
    ARBY
    Guest

    Default

    Nice billdozer. Was thinking about converting to pushbutton breakers. Are they as sturdy and dependable as the stock ones??

  19. #19
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    910

    Default

    Ok Arby, in case you don't see it in the 'blogdump' I'll post these here too. Finally made some progress on the box today.......








  20. #20
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    304

    Default

    ^^^^
    That box looks so professional, neat, and sanitary! Very excellent job!

Share This



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in