CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,185

    Default wered you put your speedo

    i got the big speedo perched between the bars off the top clamp i dug it at first kinda made me think of the drag bikes................now i want it out of the way, less cluttered looking especially if i decide to run bars that eliminate the risers or the stock risers

    SO whatya got??? pics are always nice

  2. #2
    NHMike
    Guest

    Default

    No pictures, but mine went into the garbage.

  3. #3
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    49

    Default

    I moved my down to the left fork tube. I like it there. It's out of the way of everything and still easy to see when you catch sight of the fuzz. I got the bracket from lowbrow and it retains all of the factory lights.

  4. #4
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,185

    Default

    yeah im not shit canning mine, i like the dummy lights and i also like being able to keep track of my mileage, with little to no reserve capacity and after pushing it down the side of the road a few times i keep a close eye on it, and speed yeah i guess thats fun to know too

  5. #5
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    168

    Default

    If its an HD you can mount a mini speedo on the motor mount bolt...

    Pan Version 2.0

  6. #6
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    281

    Default

    i made a fork tube clamp out of a square chunk of alum and used an autometer cup for the speedo housing. i drilled a hole in the middle for the fork tube, then cut it in half. bolt on each side to hold it together and a piece of rubber gasket material between the fork tube and the clamp. been good for 2 years so far. nice and tucked and i have a clear view of the whole thing. i also mounted the idiot lights on the cover across the top tree where the eyebrow would mount (first pic shows it also on the cut down speedo clamp, but that gone by the next pics). old pics of my bike, but the mount hasnt changed:








  7. #7
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,206

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Barber View Post
    I moved my down to the left fork tube. I like it there. It's out of the way of everything and still easy to see when you catch sight of the fuzz. I got the bracket from lowbrow and it retains all of the factory lights.
    You have any photos? I was thinking about doing something similar. Thanks

  8. #8
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    119

    Default

    Honestly, you really need dummy lights and a speedo? If you cant find neutral on your bike without a light you have a problem, and the oil pressure light,you will hear it before you see that light unless you ride staring down at your cluster. You should probably put your signals back on as well. The whole small gas tank argument lost gas a long time ago. I have a 2.2 tank that I am lucky if I have 1.8 useable gallons in because of the way its mounted and I have never been left pushing. I ride a fair amount of long distance and it has never been a problem .I am not claiming to be some superhero or any shit like that but you should know how fast you are going based on what gear you are in and how much throttle you are grabbing. Lose the speedo and idiot lights and save yourself the hassel of all the extra wiring.

  9. #9
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    160

    Default

    barber where did you find the bracket on the lowbrow site? vin like that setup just ain't got the skills to make one for myself

  10. #10
    ARBY
    Guest

    Default

    Speedo





    Oh come on. Somebody had to do it!

  11. #11
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    176

    Default

    Autometer 3209 bracket
    Google it.

    $12.99
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails unnamed.jpg   CRW_8699.jpg  

  12. #12
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    68

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vin View Post
    Soooo much cool stuff going on with your bike Vin. Are those old pics or did you switch your fender around again?

  13. #13
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    190

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blackyck View Post
    Autometer 3209 bracket
    Google it.

    $12.99
    Exactly what i did, best solution for my set up.

  14. #14
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,185

    Default

    nice ARBY real nice lol, hey Vin do you have any side shot of you bike and like a front angle shot? i just dont want it to look like i just moved the clutter down

    oh and teeterbilt thanks for nothing

  15. #15
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    168

    Default

    Dont you guys know you're not a hardcore biker if you run a speedo? C'mon...

    Fuck that, I like to have an odometer to keep up with my oil changes and maintenance.

  16. #16
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    281

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by twentyDeuce View Post
    Soooo much cool stuff going on with your bike Vin. Are those old pics or did you switch your fender around again?
    haha, no that was last year. 8-20-09 (i just checked) to be exact. crappy duplicolor gas absorbing paint.

    Quote Originally Posted by tattoo2303 View Post
    hey Vin do you have any side shot of you bike and like a front angle shot? i just dont want it to look like i just moved the clutter down
    g
    um, this is what i have uploaded (dont really have a good side shot) definitely less cluttered and a more recent shot for 22





  17. #17
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,267

    Default

    autometer clamp mounted to the bolt that holds the tank on. sorry no pics. go to xlforum if you really need a pic to figure it out.
    for dummy lights i cut that part of the speedo bracket off, smoothed it down, then mounted it back in stock position.
    i later got rid of them, but thats how i ran em when i did.

  18. #18
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    200

    Default

    I used the old autometer tach clamp deal, not new. Mounted to the front tank bolt. Used an ironhead gear pawl as a spacer. Sorry for the crappy iphone pics.






  19. #19
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    899

    Default

    [QUOTE=vin;84999]i made a fork tube clamp out of a square chunk of alum and used an autometer cup for the speedo housing. i drilled a hole in the middle for the fork tube, then cut it in half. bolt on each side to hold it together and a piece of rubber gasket material between the fork tube and the clamp. been good for 2 years so far. nice and tucked and i have a clear view of the whole thing. i also mounted the idiot lights on the cover across the top tree where the eyebrow would mount (first pic shows it also on the cut down speedo clamp, but that gone by the next pics). old pics of my bike, but the mount hasnt changed:







    How did you cut the original clamp to keep the idiot lights?

  20. #20
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    49

    Default

    Sorry I've been busy at work. But it's under mc parts. Chassis, drive and bearings. It's also for 04-present sportsters with 41mm fork tubes.


    Last edited by Barber; 08-20-2010 at 8:47 AM. Reason: Posted pictures

Share This



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in