CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Default Good info in the 45" Flathead?

What's a comprehensive source for this?

I bought an iron headed, 45" flat out of a Servicar. The engine is all I have. Nothing else. I want a hard tail chopper.

"What fits what" has some parts compatibility in it. Is there something similar that just exhaustively covers the 45?

Mods. Changes over the years. Interchangeability.

Whatever you may know is more than I know about them, and is news to me.

Thank You.

Get Adobe Flash player

Well, I am no expert, But there is a sh*t ton of tech and stories about them, From military models to racing. I know some guys into them and some of the really rare racing models.
    Might start here at this,, ton of info here alone:
    See http://victorylibrary.com/45PER.htm
    " This is VICTORY LIBRARY’s comprehensive booklet on obtaining the best speed & power from your Harley-Davidson 45” flathead 1937-73 solo, Servi-Car, military and civilian, including model letters WL, WLA, WLC, G, GE, etc.
    Your “obsolete” 45” side-valve is capable of surprising speed & power, without loss of original appearance or reliability. Over 30 years of research and experience has gone into this booklet. It’s the original, best, and most complete do-it-yourself literature you can buy to get the most from your Harley-Davidson 45. Before making any decisions about modifying (or even rebuilding) your motor, get the best help available, and do it right the first time. This book is not a repair manual, but goes far beyond into fine tuning, improvements and modernization. Use it with your service manual for best results. Not an expert mechanic? You’ll still find many improvements you can make yourself with common hand tools.