Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • DoomBuggy
    • Oct 2016

USAA Insurance, great till you really need them

As a vet I am allowed to use USAA for my insurance. They are a highly rated company and for little dings and such they have been excellent. However my wife was struck by a hit and run driver and USAA decided to total her car ( it is a Volt and they did not want to repair it because it is an electric car. )

I was in the Insurance industry for over 25 years and totally understand the claims settlement process. The insurance company always has a way to make adjustments.

Anyhow since I do know the process, I researched the current replacement cost, real costs not some damn table they use, and sent it in as proof of value. Their offer was over $5,000 below what it will cost for an equivalent replacement. They strung me along for more then a week and offered me just enough so that if I wanted to fight them, my lawyers fees would be more then the difference.

As soon as I settle I am going to cancel all my policies with them and move them over to State Farm. At least when I had them they never tried to bend me over like this.
  • DustyDave
    Super Moderator
    • Oct 2012

Geico is on the same list with me It took a lawyer to get anything, and I was insured with them and so was the other driver. Only good part was my attorney collected a few thousand extra from them after the settlement he invoked the part of my policy that was if I got hit by an uninsured or underinsured driver. Didn't get near what my Jeep was worth. Now I have everything with Grundy at an agreed value that goes up with inflation. And they are cheaper than Geico.
    Dusty
    Driving that train, high on cocaine
    Casey Jones you better, watch your speed
    Trouble ahead, trouble behind
    And you know that notion just crossed my mind​

Comment

• DoomBuggy
      • Oct 2016

I have my bike with Hagerty, might look at Grundy. USAA was nice as I had the house and bike with them.