CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Default Electric start help

I have an 83 shovel that the previous owner removed all of the wiring for electric start. Bike runs fine but I have busted up both knees and can’t kick it any longer.
    Over replaced the inner and outer primary. I’ve also installed starter and solenoid. I’m not experienced with electrical at all. Do any of you know if there is a kit for adding the wiring??

Get Adobe Flash player

Quote Originally Posted by Bibwhite View Post
    I have an 83 shovel that the previous owner removed all of the wiring for electric start. Bike runs fine but I have busted up both knees and can’t kick it any longer.
    Over replaced the inner and outer primary. I’ve also installed starter and solenoid. I’m not experienced with electrical at all. Do any of you know if there is a kit for adding the wiring??
    I dunno about a kit? What are we doing? Replacing the wiring to the bars and hand controls?

Duplicating or replacing the stock wiring would entail the bars, controls, relay, kill switch and some other stuff. It is a big part of the harness, actually. It wouldn't be hard to create and add, though. Diagrams are on the Carl Salter site.

Now, if you have replaced the stock hand controls or don't want to go through all of that? There are a variety of options.

The simplest one I ever saw was on my bike when I bought it and it was just a little spring like piece of steel someone mounted to the starter solenoid that you pushed to engage the starter when you wanted. It even fit under the rubber cover so you couldn't see it. Rock simple and cheap.

Or, you could wire a high current button in line there and mount it somewhere...

OR, if you want you can use about any momentary button, or an ignition switch with a momentary "start" position, mount it wherever you want, and add a relay..