Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • noodlum
    • Aug 2019

Shovelhead Top End Rebuild

What's up everybody, I figured since I have my bike apart for paint that I might as well go through the motor. Before I tore it down I was getting some oil out of the exhaust and was fouling plugs. I thought it might be valve seals, what do you guys think? I was told when I bought the bike that it had a mild Sifton cam, and when I pulled the rocker boxes I noticed aftermarket valve spring retainers. How do the cylinders look? Do I need to bore them? Hone them? Re-ring? This is my first time getting into a motor and wanted to get the advice of of people who actually know that the fuck they are doing.

Click image for larger version

Name:	c.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	305.6 KB
ID:	1347519

Name:	d.jpg
Size:	295.0 KB
ID:	1347520

Name:	e.jpg
Size:	295.8 KB
ID:	1347521

Name:	f.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	306.9 KB
ID:	1347517

Name:	g.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	297.7 KB
ID:	1347518
    Last edited by noodlum; 11-08-2021, 7:32 AM.
  • JBinNC
    • Dec 2018

Oil in a shovelhead combustion chamber most often comes from a head gasket leaking from the oil return passage to the chamber. That is very common. Second most common cause is worn valve guides and valve stem wear. The shovelheads did not use valve stem seals until '80 or '81, but of course they can and should be retrofitted to the earlier models. Last cause on the list is rings and cylinder wall wear, but all of this should be addressed when doing a top end rebuild.

Measuring the bore for taper and roundness, and checking the skirt clearance, as well as checking the bore for scratches will determine whether a rebore is needed.