Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • lastwaav33
    • Oct 2021

1971 Shovelhead vs 1973 Shovelhead Oil Lines

Hi All - I'm new to wrenching on Shovelheads so I've been searching a lot to try to find this answer but have come up empty.

I will be swapping out a '73 Shovel for a '71 Shovel (not delivered yet) and was wondering if there were any differences in the oil line configuration? Did Harley change the oil pumps between those years or anything?

Is there anything else to look out for when making the swap?

I'm probably overthinking it and just need to organize myself properly once the '71 gets here, but thought I'd ask.

Thanks in advance.
  • Tattooo
    • Sep 2012

Originally posted by lastwaav33
    Hi All - I'm new to wrenching on Shovelheads so I've been searching a lot to try to find this answer but have come up empty.

I will be swapping out a '73 Shovel for a '71 Shovel (not delivered yet) and was wondering if there were any differences in the oil line configuration? Did Harley change the oil pumps between those years or anything?

Is there anything else to look out for when making the swap?

I'm probably overthinking it and just need to organize myself properly once the '71 gets here, but thought I'd ask.

Thanks in advance.

It's a direct swap nothing is different............ Yes you are over thinking this but there is nothing wrong with asking questions.......

Do you own a Harley manual???????

Comment

• lastwaav33
      • Oct 2021

No I don't, but I'm going to be sticking with this engine for the foreseeable future so I should definitely get one haha

Thanks for the confirmation. I thought that that was the case, just wanted to be sure.

Comment

• Tattooo
        • Sep 2012

Originally posted by lastwaav33
        No I don't, but I'm going to be sticking with this engine for the foreseeable future so I should definitely get one haha

Thanks for the confirmation. I thought that that was the case, just wanted to be sure.