Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • WannaBeFabrication
    • Mar 2015

Dream Build: 1980 XS650

Ok, maybe not THE dream build but I've always had a fancy for building an XS for some reason. So I woke up from work one afternoon (I work nights) and the Ol' Lady comes in the room and says, "Take a look at what I sent you and tell me your honest opinion." and there it was. A Facebook Marketplace link of a "1979 XS650 Project" in all its glory. so I immediately said "yup" before even clicking the link. After giving it a look over, it was listed as a 1979 but turned out to be an '80 (TDI ignition) with a David Bird hardtail already installed. Me being a welder, I am always kind of wary when it comes to already hard tailed bikes and didn't have real high expectations when I asked who did the hardtail and the seller said "I did". Anyway, I set up a time to go take a look and as soon as we pulled into the driveway, I knew this kid was legit and had an idea of what he was doing. So the bike was a full roller with the motor in the frame along with a 2 or 3 boxes of parts that he said "Everything should be there to finish it." Yea, everyone says that. So I talked him down on price as one does and took it home. Couple days go by and I finally get a chance to go over the whole thing and the box of toys that came with it. I was delighted to find that he was mostly right, but a few things were missing from the "Everything There" box. He already had the HHB PMA system installed, but in the box I found a brand new PAMCO ignition as well as a Sparx Cap which was perfect because that's the route I planned on heading down anyway. I was unaware that the '80 was a TDI ignition system so I'm currently hunting down the advance rod and governor timing plate. Anyway, that's where I'm at right now. I did drill out the HHB solid riser bushing to accept a 1/2 bolt and cut up some extra Harley risers I had laying around. Wiring is about the only thing I can currently do, then I'll make a pa