Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Rhysmort
    • May 2017

41 el

So, as most of you probably don't know I've always been chasing a knuckle. Ever since I started riding old bikes I wanted a knuckle. This wasn't obtainable with the costs here in the UK, for me anyway, I mean it's a lot of money to drop for anybody, but here in the UK I only know of a very few people who have one.

I had the opportunity to get my hands on a 41EL, engine is rebuilt, frame is mint OEM and a springer. It arrived last Tuesday and I've been beavering away on it ever since.

Frame was raw metal and rusty, dressed a lot of the bronze and some joints down as they must have not cared about expense and just thrown it on there haha.

Dressed, tidied, zinc primer, better quality primer, 5 coats of black.

I'll add a few photos to this as I go along, I've kind of documented it, but with a little help I've put a lot of it together ready to final tighten etc since Thursday night.

Works to be done; Genny install, Sissy bar mount needs moving, exhausts, front end, wiring, mag needs a little work.

All of the above minus the mag is due to waiting on parts!

Thank you,

• Rhysmort
    • May 2017

Done some more to her today.

I forgot how much I loathe getting fenders to fit, sit flush, sit centrally and just be a ball ache. Got my P pad bolted down. Sissy cross brace needs a little work to make her fit.

I gave the pipes a try on too.. very happy with them! all 60's survivor stuff.

Rhys

Comment

• Rhysmort
      • May 2017

Have exams this week so a little slow on the old uptake. I'm waiting on small parts now like bearing races, oil couplings etc, so can't make any more progress. Have a few little bits to put right, move the petcock as it doesn't fit with the engine top mount, braise a little hole in my rear pipe where somebody in the 60's held it tight with a spring. P-pad needs a little jigging.