• Aug 2019

1999 sportster 1200 "FIRST FRAME UP BUILD"

Click image for larger version

Name:	00303_jvwf5QlBfik_1200x900.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	160.4 KB
ID:	1345580

Hello everyone,
    Dantheman here first off I'm new to this whole forum thing, good or bad any criticism is better then none btw..
    So I got this 1999 xlh 1200 sportster about 4years ago picked it up for 2k with 22k miles on running a bit ruff at the time how you see it here is the day I got it..previous owner picked it up and could'nt get the bike to run rite...after looking at it and wanting to do a custom build thought it would be a good platform to start with... after tinkering around with it when I got home it ran pretty good so I ran the bike harddd for 2 seasons until it was starting to get a bit tired so at that point it got thrown in the back of the garage until I could find time and some spare cash to make it different as this being my first really gound up build time gets the best of projects like this and after a year or so collecting dust and not have time to really get balls deep in it got put on the back burner as I had 2 other bike at the time...so now july 2019.. i started full tear down to bare frame and to start this long awaited project...the problem was everyone builds sportsters how can I make mine different and stand out...I'm 28 years ive bin riding for 10years and have many bikes that turn into projects and changing parts but I wanted this one to be different I'm a heavy equipment diesel tech. And motor builder so I have experience with welding and fabrication exc. This is how it started
  • DANTHEMAN7734
    • Aug 2019

Breaking bike down to start build

Name:	Snapchat-1525801697.jpg
Size:	301.3 KB
ID:	1312994 Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2018-10-22-00-06-20.jpg
Size:	25.2 KB
ID:	1312995 Click image for larger version

Name:	Snapchat-1065009258.jpg
Size:	307.1 KB
ID:	1312996