Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jetfuel85
    • Apr 2019

Picked up a 73 xs650 need input!!!!

So the long story short is I picked up a 1973 Yamaha XS 650 with an extra 1980 frame . I have my David Bird zero stretch 3 inch drop Hardtail because I want to build a nice narrow Lane splitter . My question is the 73 motor is a 256 not the 447 which most people use should I ditch the motor and pick up another motor that’s a 447 to stick in the 1980 frame or can I stick the 1973 motor in this 1980 frame ?
    Some people gripe and say the 73 motor is not worth keeping and getting running right etc. .
    I’m really relying on your guys input as I’m new to this bike I have done many metrics but not the Xs650 so I’m learning as I go
    Any input would be greatly appreciated
  • Tattooo
    • Sep 2012

Originally posted by Jetfuel85
    So the long story short is I picked up a 1973 Yamaha XS 650 with an extra 1980 frame . I have my David Bird zero stretch 3 inch drop Hardtail because I want to build a nice narrow Lane splitter . My question is the 73 motor is a 256 not the 447 which most people use should I ditch the motor and pick up another motor that’s a 447 to stick in the 1980 frame or can I stick the 1973 motor in this 1980 frame ?
    Some people gripe and say the 73 motor is not worth keeping and getting running right etc. .
    I’m really relying on your guys input as I’m new to this bike I have done many metrics but not the Xs650 so I’m learning as I go
    Any input would be greatly appreciated
    What frames do you have a title for???????

Comment

• Jetfuel85
      • Apr 2019