Generally how does a springer ride compared to hydraulic forks?

Collapse

Desktop Ad Forum Top

Collapse

Mobile ad top forum

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • cdwillis
    • Dec 2018

Generally how does a springer ride compared to hydraulic forks?

I'm new to motorcycles. I've never ridden a springer, but they look super rad. Are they stiff at hell compared to a front end with hydraulic oil / telescopic forks? For those of you that have one, what's the appeal? Just the cool look? Less maintenance?
  • AlbertaFarmer
    • Sep 2013

I never thought I'd be one of these guys, but here it goes haha

Learn to identify and then stay away from the cheap Chinese DNA springers (often not labelled DNA when being sold). There is a famous photo of one snapped in a real bad way, be cool if somebody had it to show here. I bought one really cheap with the idea of throwing it on a bike. After getting it in my hands, I knew why everyone was so against them. Very poor quality all around, and they do look goofy once you develop an eye for springers. Polished it up and made a few bucks off some clown who figured he could "C-clamp a brake caliper on there". There are some very legitimate aftermarket options, as well as the factory Harley ones they put on softails. As far as the ride goes, only one way to find out what you think of them.
    Last edited by AlbertaFarmer; 05-07-2019, 5:43 PM.

Comment

• DoomBuggy
      • Oct 2016

Springers are like girls, everyone is a bit different although they all have some traits in common and in the right light they all look pretty good.

Yes they do look cool, no they look really fucking cool, does not matter if they are stock length or way extended, they look cool.

A cheaper one will have you wondering when it will break and turn into a lance pointed in your direction.

A really good one will have a damper and will ride like a dream, think modern Harley.