CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Default Pushrod assortment..the hell!!

First off I'm a newb. The 72 shovel I found came with an assortment of pushrods and I have no idea whats what or if they're all there.

I have 4 non-adjustable pushrods with two being identical and the other two different lengths (all same diameters). Then I have 4 adjustable rods with two identical and two different lengths and diameters.

here's a pic

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_7947.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	300.0 KB 
ID:	90254

Get Adobe Flash player

The distances between tappet blocks and rocker arms are not equal on all cylinders, hence the different length pushrods.

Get Adobe Flash player

gotcha..so basically if it fits it works? so far I've only seen adjustable rods being used with shovels. Curious what the non adjustable ones would go to?

From the top in your pic:

The top two steel pushrods are the '80-up version of the factory shovel pushrod, to be used with the factory hydraulic tappet, or with a factory tappet body with a solid adapter designed for the stock pushrod.

The first adjustable aluminum pushrod is for a panhead (note larger radius on top ball end) and should not be used in a shovel.

The second adjustable aluminum pushrod is an aftermarket version of the stock shovel pushrod, see above.

The nonadjustable set is for a shovel with '48 - '52 style solid adjustable tappets, or a shovel with stock tappet bodies that have an adjustable adapter added.

So, it depends on what style tappets you have or want.

Jim

Quote Originally Posted by firstripholdmybeer View Post
    gotcha..so basically if it fits it works? so far I've only seen adjustable rods being used with shovels. Curious what the non adjustable ones would go to?