Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Rjcinelli
    • Oct 2016

78 XS750 chop first bike build

Started building my bike a few months back, and decided now that I should start a build thread to keep track of what I've done and hopefully get some tips, recommendations, and constructive criticism since this is my first build. So I picked up a 1978 XS750 back in November of 2017, $400 non-running no paperwork. Figured I would tinker with it and get back on a bike... well I got her running and that was enough for me to tear it apart and start chopping it up. Not 100% sure where I want this build to go, it's a low budget, learn how to build a bike kind of build. My plans for the bike are as follows:
    Hardtail, no rear stretch
    stretch downtubes 2" or 3" not sure yet
    12" over girder frontend from an old Harley
    21" spool wheel up front
    King queen seat I plan to fab up
    Complete rewire of the bike since it's a mess
    Rabbit Ear bars?

Hoping to be riding this bike ASAP and take a trip up to Canada in late July. Time for pictures

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180202_123027.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	305.4 KB
ID:	1342710 No ramp? No problem

Name:	IMG_20180203_154802.jpg
Size:	305.5 KB
ID:	1342711 Removing the motor for the first time, kind of a pain but I figured it out

Name:	IMG_20180226_164148.jpg
Size:	305.4 KB
ID:	1342712 Chopped some of the frame, still had no idea what I was going to do at this point

Name:	IMG_20180324_134457.jpg
Size:	300.8 KB
ID:	1342713 Had my buddy weld the lower portion of the hardtail, his welding skills are far beyond mine

Name:	IMG_20180326_191647.jpg
Size:	293.1 KB
ID:	1342714 Made some rear mounts out of spare tubing I had laying around, not the prettiest but they'll work
  • Rjcinelli
    • Oct 2016

Some more pictures...

Name:	IMG_20180330_173857.jpg
Size:	296.0 KB