CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    15

    Default Shovelhead open belt primary belt wonít fit

    Hey guys, Iíve been researching and researching but canít seem to find a solution to the problem Iím having.

    The belt on this BDL 1.5 open primary seems just a tad short. I canít get the damn thing on. The trans is pushed up against the frame so I am out of room there... other than this issue everything is lined up and good to go... just canít get this damn belt on.. any suggestions? Does anyone make a little bit longer belt so I can adjust accordingly?
    Last thing I want is an over tight belt. Am I missing something here?
    Thanks

    BDL 1.5 open primary
    1980 shovel motor
    Early paughco frame
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 2D83BC44-252C-4DD2-8E15-F55F5B4DACC6.jpg   1DBC8A9E-25F0-482D-9E5B-92182E2685F4.jpg  

  2. #2
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    1,478

    Default

    I believe that BDL makes a one tooth smaller front sprocket.

  3. #3
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    12,576

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 47str8leg View Post
    I believe that BDL makes a one tooth smaller front sprocket.
    They also may have belts that have the same tooth count, but is made longer...

  4. #4
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    1,478

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dragstews View Post
    They also may have belts that have the same tooth count, but is made longer...
    Hmmm..that's news to me. I know they have 8&11 mm belts with different tooth counts because the teeth are two different sizes. That spacing matches the notches on the sprockets. How can they elongate a belt without adding teeth to match the spacing ?

  5. #5
    SamHain
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 47str8leg View Post
    Hmmm..that's news to me. I know they have 8&11 mm belts with different tooth counts because the teeth are two different sizes. That spacing matches the notches on the sprockets. How can they elongate a belt without adding teeth to match the spacing ?
    BE vs ST. Same toothcount slightly different length.

    Either should fit, but ST was too tight for my taste

  6. #6
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    1,478

    Default

    What does BE stand for ? I'm assuming ST is "standard ".

  7. #7
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    18

    Default

    I have the same issue with my BDL belt drive on my Shovel. They sent me a belt that was a little bigger. I could get it on but it's still to tight. They didn't mention a different front pulley. I guess I have to call them again. My belt is verytight and will eventually wipe out as bearing or seal in the trans.

  8. #8
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    1,478

    Default

    The 2" doesn't have these problems. I've heard about it with the 1&1/2 breaking belts . Especially when enclosed due to heat build up. My friend Drew was having these problems a few years back . He told me about the pulley.

  9. #9
    SamHain
    Guest

    Default

    Heard it was bullseye. Fuck if I know what either of them mean. I was told BE was the short one and st was stretch, but It ain’t BE is longer

  10. #10
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    930

    Default

    I would put the front pulley all the way on the sprocket shaft and then start working the belt on. It will be tight, especially when the belt is brand new.

  11. #11
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    240

    Default

    I was recently running into the same issue, BDL gave me a slightly smaller front pulley (-1 tooth) That should be your fix.

    For my setup (closed softail primary w no adjustment) it ended up being too loose, I purchased a different belt and got my old pulley back, new belt did the trick. The guy at BDL told me they have been having issues for around 6 years or so with the belt manufacturer and slightly different lengths

  12. #12
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    1,478

    Default

    Don't know if I buy that excuse from BDL. Gates has been making quality belts for years .

  13. #13
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    215

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by woz View Post
    I was recently running into the same issue, BDL gave me a slightly smaller front pulley (-1 tooth) That should be your fix.

    For my setup (closed softail primary w no adjustment) it ended up being too loose, I purchased a different belt and got my old pulley back, new belt did the trick. The guy at BDL told me they have been having issues for around 6 years or so with the belt manufacturer and slightly different lengths
    I was on the phone with BDL about 2 weeks ago ordering a new clutch hub and I was told that there has been a problem for years with aftermarket frames having the center post in the wrong location and trans plate too far back......... I'm in the same situation, mine fits TIGHT! I have to install the motor sprocket first, and wiggle it on both sprockets at the same time, and my trans is jammed all the way forward.

  14. #14
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    9,267

    Default

    When you find a belt that works, buy two. You can't count on finding spares on the road, and they won't get any less expensive.

  15. #15
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    240

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jsaz666 View Post
    I was on the phone with BDL about 2 weeks ago ordering a new clutch hub and I was told that there has been a problem for years with aftermarket frames having the center post in the wrong location and trans plate too far back......... I'm in the same situation, mine fits TIGHT! I have to install the motor sprocket first, and wiggle it on both sprockets at the same time, and my trans is jammed all the way forward.
    Yeah that was brought up to me too, but I'm running an HD frame with an HD inner primary, ever tried a 2nd inner, no dice.

    Kinda sucks because now I have an extra belt but it wont fit my current setup, going to attempt to trade them haha

  16. #16
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Hey man I had to go with a new front pulley and it fit perfect after that!! Had the same issue with mine.

  17. #17
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    466

    Default

    I had the same problem on my 1.5 on my Pan, luckily I was able to mill my trans plate so I can scoot the trans forward then adjust. Is it hitting the frame or just stopping in the plate? I originally thought my trans was into the frame but it had about a 1/4" I was able to move it which ended up being plenty. Now a side of the road belt change is loosen trans and axle move adjusters, slide forward, swap belt and re tension everything....boom done

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    15

    Default

    It is hitting the frame... After speaking with BLD he said there is supposed to be a flat spot in the down post where the trans can get a little more wiggle room. But my frame does not have it. So working on getting a bigger belt or smaller front pully from them. Waiting for a call back from them. Thanks fellas

  19. #19
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    1,478

    Default

    Found my old BDL installation and parts guide.
    BE probably means "Belt Early" for all generator applications.
    ST came for alternator motors from 70-78. The end of the ratchet tops ?
    If you have a tapered front pulley then only the rear sprocket can be changed to one smaller tooth.
    With a splined front the rear stays the same and the fronts can be changed.
    I don't know for sure but I don't think it's a good idea to swap those two type belts instead of a pulley. The kick vs. electric start pulley must be machined slightly different . Could lead to the belt jumping a tooth under load ( like , an emergency situation) and shearing it's teeth off.
    But this is just speculation on my part.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_7054.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	285.0 KB 
ID:	82272
    Last edited by 47str8leg; 03-05-2018 at 1:59 PM.

  20. #20
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    9,267

    Default

    If my frame required more clearance, I'd make some. It's only steel and the area is suitably buried so dicking up the paint wouldn't matter much.

    Snatch tranny after determining desired clearance, grind clearance with an angle grinder, check that there's sufficient room, insert then weld plate inside hole in downtube. (Tack a bolt to plate so you have a handle then grind off bolt when done.)

Share This



Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in