Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Beastor187
    • Oct 2015

Shovelhead timing help

So first to start off im a complete newb and just bought my first shovelhead, it's been running a little rough and at first I thought it was a carb problem, so I re jetted and tuned the carb and it still wasn't running good so I checked the points and it was way off, so I regapped them, then I was gonna do the static timing, so i got the compression stroke and removed the timing inspection hole screw, I was having my brother help me out and when I stepped into the other room to grab a light to see the marks and he had kicked the bike over a few times for God knows why, so now I see an x, my question is to get it back to where it needs to be do I keep kicking it over until I see the marks again? Or what else I'm not sure what to do, again total newb here and don't wanna fuck the bike up so id rather ask, please help thank you
    Last edited by Beastor187; 12-19-2017, 4:24 PM.
  • Tattooo
    • Sep 2012

Just start at the beginning again they will come back around...

Worry about the lines not anything else... Do you have a manual for your year bike... Your not going to break anything setting your timing...

By the way send your brother to town to get you a bottle cap.. He's of no help...
    Last edited by Tattooo; 12-19-2017, 5:32 PM.

Comment

• farmall
      • Apr 2013

Asking questions is much better than not knowing.