Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • choppersbydavid
    • Oct 2017

'77 XS650 Chopper Build: My First Chop!

Hi everyone, my name's David. I'm 17 and the start of this build and from New Jersey. This is my first bike: a 1977 Yamaha XS650 that I'm chopping up. I'm an apprentice motorcycle mechanic at a local shop, which is where I gained pretty much all of my motorcycle knowledge. This build will be a huge learning tool to strengthen my fabrication and customization skills. I figured I'd post the process here to share with all of you and document it along the way. I'm super excited for this. I've been wanting to build my own chopper for the longest time.
  • choppersbydavid
    • Oct 2017

First off, this is what the bike looks like now. Already kinda hacked up and not very pretty, but a great start.

Click image for larger version

Name:	20171004_143353.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	309.5 KB
ID:	1298640
    Last edited by choppersbydavid; 10-29-2017, 9:22 PM.

Comment

• choppersbydavid
      • Oct 2017

So I'm going to keep the electric starter, primarily as a backup. There's a short coming from somewhere that keeps blowing fuses every time you press the start button. I isolated the short down to the starter itself, but when I bought a used starter from eBay(tested and working) the same problem happens. Could there be a short beyond the starter in the motor, or where do I look? After I tackle this, the bike can finish being taken apart and I can cut up the frame for the hardtail.

Update: Found the wiring issue. All the wiring is messed up from all the PO's, gonna rewire it all later.
      Last edited by choppersbydavid; 11-01-2017, 8:55 PM.

Comment

• choppersbydavid
        • Oct 2017