CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    Tom8336

Default 70's Triumph Chop Rebuild

Hi.

Last year I bought an old triumph that'd been sitting in a garage unloved for years, and decided to give it a makeover. The engine is a TR6 bottom end/T120 top end, with twin Mikuni carbs and Boyer Mk 4 ignition. I've also added Boyer twin 12v coils and a Boyer Powerbox (non delay). This is the set up that the Boyer technical team told me to use in order to go battery less, but I'll be adding a small lithium battery (about the size of a fag packet) too, just to make sure the power is there.

This was a complete strip down. I soda blasted the engine (it was covered in gold & silver paint), had the cylinders re bored and fitted new pistons, repainted the cylinders, powder coated the frame (it had a spray can paint job when I got it), etc etc, etc .... The job's been a slow one as I don't have a garage, I'm not a mechanic, and the weather in England didn't pick up until a month ago, but I'm getting there. Wade over at Sickboyz Customs in Epsom has done the frame mods I wanted as I don't have welding gear, and has also generally just been a great help and a Top bloke.

I got the engine running last week with a mate who's a Triumph mechanic, and he will also be doing the wiring & electric's next week when the rear mudguard & sissy bar come back from chroming. I was going to do the electric's myself but I know where my limits are.

I'm fitting a Custom Only BlackBox 2 to work the light's & indicators etc, which will be controlled by small push buttons on the handlebars which I've already drilled and fitted. The lights will all be LED.

The end is in sight but still a way to go yet though.

Here are some photo's. Hope you like it.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 7673479.jpg   fullsizeoutput_6ce.jpg   IMG_0626.jpg  
    Last edited by Tom8336; 10-31-2017 at 2:57 PM.

Tom8336

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3341.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	298.3 KB