Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • duckbanger
    • Apr 2024

The Mothership: 86 1100 Sporty Build

I originally hadn't planned on doing a build thread for this bike but I figured that since this was my first "real" build you guys that actually know what your doing will hopefully step in and help me along the way. My plans were to build a shovel but since I'm still a complete newbie I felt it was better to settle on a '86 XLH1100 Sportster and a Kraft-Tech frame that I came across for the right price. And if anyone has any info or things to watch out for on these 1100 like the stator being on the clutch it would be much appreciated. I've only talked to two people who put miles on these bikes and said they loved them so I'm just looking for more input.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3139.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	304.2 KB
ID:	1341619

Name:	IMG_3138.jpg
Size:	302.3 KB
ID:	1341620

So I finally got my hands on a set of narrow trees and a pair of DIY rabbit ears that were pre-bent.

Name:	IMG_3172.jpg
Size:	296.5 KB
ID:	1341621

Also got the tank mounted up and decided to go with 39mm 6 over on the forks

Name:	IMG_3195.jpg
Size:	295.1 KB
ID:	1341622
    Last edited by Guest; 06-03-2017, 10:39 PM.
  • duckbanger
    • Apr 2024

After getting the wrong sliders sent to me and having the new ones shaved I decided to paint my tank since I had some ideas floating around. I give you guys props that do detail mural and paint work on these tanks! It's definitely no easy task and found out how time consuming it really is, and I would only go as far to say my tank is decent at most.
    Just a pic to show the stripe work before laying the black down. Also this color is matched off of my Gibson goldtop Les Paul guitar.

Name:	IMG_3206.jpg
Size:	289.0 KB
ID:	1296771

Name:	IMG_3217.jpg
Size:	302.3 KB
ID:	1296772

Name:	IMG_3218.jpg
Size:	298.4 KB
ID:	1296773

Name:	IMG_3219.jpg
Size:	294.8 KB
ID:	1296774

Name:	IMG_3220.jpg
Size:	300.6 KB
ID:	1296775