CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Default '02 VLX tail light wiring question?

Hello, All.
    Total noob, here.. I seem to be in a bit of a conundrum.

I ordered a cheap axle mounted brake/running light for my vlx. The light did not come with any instructions, and I was unable to find anything online to help my situation. I have little to no knowledge of electrical wiring, although I do consider myself fairly logical..I can usually work things out, given enough time..That being said;

The light itself comes with a Red, Blue, and Black wire.. The wires that are on the VLX that go to the tail light are Green, Green w/Yellow, and Brown.

I tried a variety of combinations of wires to other wires, but I have been unable to get my brake light to work..? I currently have
    Brown/Red,
    Green/Black,
    Grn.Yllw/Blu, wire combinations..

The running lights only work when I have the Brn/Red, and the Grn/Blk wires connected.. I assumed that the Grn.Yllw/Blu wires would make the brake light work, but that is not the case.. Here is a pic, in case I am not being clear..

What am I doing wrong, here.. Is there something I am missing?
    Tl;Dr.. Running light works, brake light won't engage, help?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	unnamed.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	298.4 KB 
ID:	76951
    Last edited by CrackityJones; 05-17-2017 at 6:23 PM.

Get Adobe Flash player

First, make sure the brake light switch(es) and wiring are in working order.
    I would guess the black wire from the tailight is the ground. ?
    The Chinese seem to think the blue is brake and red is running?
    I usually confirm these questions right off the bat, straight off the batt before install.

As for the wires coming off the bike...
    Look up a wiring diagram, physically trace the wires or use a test lamp, multi-meter or lightbulb to sort it out.