CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    689

    Default Regulator connector replacement

    I'm thinking of replacing my original cone shovel regulator with a Cycle Electric one in order to get rid of the battery.
    Thing is, the original plug from the regulator to the stator is of a female type, but the Cycle Electric one has the male type plug.

    Is there anything that says I can't just cut them up and replace the newer male plug with the old female plug, in order to not have to replace the stator?

  2. #2
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    1,248

    Default

    i'm lost here. how can replacing a regulator make the bike not need a battery?

  3. #3
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    689

    Default

    I'm running a magneto and kick only.

    So I don't need a battery for ignition or starting. But I need it for lights. So changing out the battery for a condenser (often called a battery eliminator) will require a regulator that does not need a 12v input to start working. Cycle Electric makes on of these that works with a condenser, but the plug to the stator is of the wrong type.

  4. #4
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12,454

    Default

    Call cycle electric....... They are great people.....

  5. #5
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    1,248

    Default

    lol, I was going to add "unless you have a magneto" but I left it out.

  6. #6
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2,927

    Default

    the different plugs are for different windings in the stator itself.
    Call cycle electric to see if your stator is compatible with that unit.
    Would suck to fry the new reg/rect/condensor if it couldn't handle 32 amps...

  7. #7
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1,341

    Default

    Are you using a stock stator or cycle electric one?

    Are you using the CE204NB regulator?

    what year is the bike? It went to female style after 1980

    I can't see why splicing in a different terminal would hurt. Ask CE
    Last edited by Blackbetty; 01-31-2017 at 11:25 AM.

  8. #8
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    689

    Default

    It's a '78 and as far as I know it's the original stator. I tried briefly to look for any numbers on the regulator, but couldn't see any.
    So who knows really what it is I have.
    I will be on the road for the next week, bu guess IŽll look at it better when I get home again.

    Maybe I should just stop being a cheap ass and just buy the whole setup from CE. But first I'll ask CE.

  9. #9
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,363

    Default

    Just buy the whole thing. Problem is, you cant buy directly from Cycle Electric. I bought the whole set up last year, best prices i found for everything was on amazon.

  10. #10
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    689

    Default

    Ah OK.

    Was planning on buying from W&W, but they don't seem to have the stator. Well I'll look into it.

    Thanks.

Share This



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in