X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tramskitcher
    • Sep 2014

'06 Yamaha XVS 1100 Re-build - "The Foreigner"

Hey,
    I finally made the move to re-build/chop my '06 XVS 1100 v-star over winter here in Australia.
    I was never happy with what I had already done to the bike. More so the stock frame (You know,that ugly double backbone!) and that fat rear tire, I hated walking up behind and seeing that fat ass tire.

In saying that, to me it was just a patch job to get me through last two summers on a bike that I was happy to ride and looked good enough for the mean time, I have really wanted to do this for the last couple of years now.
    As an a apprentice sheet metal fabricator, I was waiting until I knew I had the skill and foresight to chop my frame and design it to work the way i wanted; working around the engine with the lower half of the stock frame.

I'm still learning everyday, so I don't claim to be a know-it-all. But if I was to do this I would do it once & do it right. I have a passion for motorcycles and fabrication. Thats why 3 years ago at 28yo I made the move too work with metal and get into the trade. I did lots of reading and would learn of a lot of guys in different fields and would soak up all the advise anyone would give me and take it on board.

So the first thing to do was decide on where I wanted to be at the end and work from there.
    I wanted to build a SoCal 60's Frisco bike.
    The bike is appropriately named The Foreigner, because I'd be making stuff on my lunch breaks or after work doing foreigners

Pics in order.
    -Stock pic of what it looked like when i got it.
    -Changed a few things
    -Version 2
    -Last day of riding before the tear down

Attached Files
    Last edited by tramskitcher; 01-07-2017, 9:29 PM.
  • 21guns
    • May 2012

Looks really good dude. I actually am in the same situation myself just at a younger age. What are you thinking paint wise and getting it regoed depending on your state?

Comment