CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Default Tall dog bone risers

So I've been looking and I can't find dog bone risers over about 8 inches. I'm looking to go in the 12-14 inch range. Anyone know if anyone isakjng classic dog bone risers (much prefer offset) in that length? If I can't find them I'm gonna have to look into making a set but since I'm still learning this stuff (welding and fabrication) it will take a while for me to get to making a set of those. I GUESS I could buy a smaller set, cut and extend them and call it a day but I'm trying to see any and all options. Lol. Oh and a question that has got to be simple as all hell BUT is there a specific name for the bars that re pretty much shaped like drag bars but are usually pretty narrow and also turn down instead of pull back? Cutting up some old bars I have lying around to make those simple bars and when j was describing them to someone I realized that I didn't even know if they have a particular name.
    Thanks for any help and your patience guys.

Get Adobe Flash player

I've never seen a set over 6", other than somewhere online is a 60's pic of a guy on a chop with some super tall risers and apes. I didn't look like that safe of a setup.

I would think that you'll need to weld them or pin them to keep them from pulling back towards you. If you're holding on at 80 and hit a big bump, they'll probably rotate on you. You'll be placing a lot of leverage on them and you probably can't torque them enough to hold..

Get Adobe Flash player

You could tack weld where the assembly tends to "pivot" on the bottom inboard of each side so if you have to replace any parts you can unbolt the riser caps and twist off the tack welds on the bottom by hand.

I cured one seto of my apes from shifting that way. (I wanted the risers to hold a speedo bracket.)