CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    113

    Default 01 1200c Sporty Front Brake Removed

    Ok guys thanks in adavance for the help. I recently took my front brake handle controls n caliper off. Well as soon as i did now my brake light dont activate when i press rear brake pedal so what is the fix to get the brake light to come on with just the rear brake pedal

  2. #2
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    80

    Default

    Did you do anything to the wiring? Shouldn't have any issues with the brake light unless you messed with the wiring.

  3. #3
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    80

    Default

    Or unless the rear brake already wasn't activating the brake light and you didn't know it

  4. #4
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Only wiring i messed with is when i cut my front blinkers but there was no wiring run to the front brake

  5. #5
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    80

    Default

    Did you remove the switches off your bars too?

  6. #6
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Yep took the switch housing off n master cylinder off

  7. #7
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    840

    Default

    there is a momentary switch at the right hand control that needs to be spliced together. its inside the housing at the lever... looks like a little box with a springloaded nub sticking out of it. that is the brake light sensor for the front brake.

    find the two wire nubs that went into that and splice them together.

  8. #8
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    113

    Default

    The houseing for the front brake is off .so if the switch is in the housing what wud spliceing them due scince lever housing is off

  9. #9
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    706

    Default

    Check the rear brake switch. Follow it from your pedal to the caliper. tighten the wires on the switch itself or replace.

    probably looks something like this.


  10. #10
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    80

    Default

    ^What he said, check the wiring for the rear brake switch. Don't splice the wires from the front switch that would just keep the brake light on.

  11. #11
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    171

    Default

    Are you sure it's not activating, or is it always on? As others have mentioned, the front brake switch activates by RELEASING that nub when the lever is pulled. Remove the lever, then it's always on.

    I would just make sure the only wires you have going to your brake switch are for the rear brake.

    All you need is accessory power to the switch then to the brake light then back to ground. Probably easiest to just re wire the rear brake switch then fuck with the front that's not needed.

  12. #12
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    36

    Default

    There is a switch in the hand controls on the throttle side. Its a little black nob. You have to look from front of bike. You cant see it from sitting on bike.When you have the brake lever and cylinder bolted up it depresses the little switch. When you pull the break lever in it lets up the little switch which activates the brake light. The sell a cover for it somewhere on the interweb or you can go into the hand controls itself and loop the wires or what not.,

  13. #13
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    36

    Default Not the wiring

    DO NOT RE WIRE A THING It's a switch in YOUR HAND CONTROLS!!! Hope this got to u in time...

  14. #14
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    97

    Default

    Have you checked the bulb? if so check voltage in and out of the rear brake switch. Don't connect the wires for the front switch together or the brake light will stay on all the time!!!

Share This



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in