CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1,722

    Default EFI wiring liposuction - Anyone done it? Know about it?

    I'm going to be trimming down my '09 Nightsters wiring. I'm keeping EFI, and want to be able to tune the bike as well as read DTCs.

    Here's what I'd like to do:
    • Remove TSM
    • Remove all turn signals, tail lamp converter module, and wiring
    • Remove license plate light and wiring
    • Install a simple tail/brake light combo
    • Remove headlight toggle, hardwire bright
    • Remove kill switch
    • Relocate start switch, coil, and ignition
    • Remove horn and switch
    • Bypass clutch switch, remove wiring
    • Remove front brake switch wiring
    • Bypass jiffy stand switch, remove wiring
    • Remove turn signal indicator, neutral indicator, and bright indicator wiring
    • Remove neutral switch wiring


    So, is there anything in the list above that would have negative side effects? Primarily concerned with ECM-related functionality, like communicating with a tuner and reading DTCs. If I can avoid check engine lights, that'd be nice.

  2. #2
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    91

    Default

    I did the following on my 48 so far.

    Quote Originally Posted by Pendulum View Post
    I'm going to be trimming down my '09 Nightsters wiring. I'm keeping EFI, and want to be able to tune the bike as well as read DTCs.

    Here's what I'd like to do:
    • Remove TSM
    • Remove all turn signals, tail lamp converter module, and wiring. (I removed front turns kept rear tied in with brake and run.)
    • Remove license plate light and wiring (removed all together)
    • Install a simple tail/brake light combo (added my rear turns here)
    • Remove headlight toggle, hardwire bright(removed all this and hardwired bright at the harness plug)
    • Remove kill switch (relocated to side panel)
    • Relocate start switch, coil, and ignition (relocated to side panel)
    • Remove horn and switch (removed all together)
    • Bypass clutch switch, remove wiring
    • Remove front brake switch wiring
    • Bypass jiffy stand switch, remove wiring
    • Remove turn signal indicator, neutral indicator, and bright indicator wiring
    • Remove neutral switch wiring


    So, is there anything in the list above that would have negative side effects? Primarily concerned with ECM-related functionality, like communicating with a tuner and reading DTCs. If I can avoid check engine lights, that'd be nice.

  3. #3
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    91

    Default

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	switch.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	319.3 KB 
ID:	61781Click image for larger version. 

Name:	throttle.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	307.6 KB 
ID:	61782Click image for larger version. 

Name:	classic.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	259.5 KB 
ID:	61783Click image for larger version. 

Name:	grips..jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	272.3 KB 
ID:	61784

    next on my list is taking off the speedo all together. shaving the factor bracket to retain oil light and neutral. i also ditched the front brakes all together.

  4. #4
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1,722

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Socal812 View Post
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	switch.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	319.3 KB 
ID:	61781Click image for larger version. 

Name:	throttle.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	307.6 KB 
ID:	61782Click image for larger version. 

Name:	classic.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	259.5 KB 
ID:	61783Click image for larger version. 

Name:	grips..jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	272.3 KB 
ID:	61784

    next on my list is taking off the speedo all together. shaving the factor bracket to retain oil light and neutral. i also ditched the front brakes all together.
    Losing the TSM doesn't affect being able to flash the ECM, does it?

  5. #5
    Cisco726
    Guest

    Default

    Are you insane? This weekend??!!! Have you memorized the schematics yet??!!!

  6. #6
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    91

    Default

    I left the actual module. I have only been cutting off or unplugging the in-between feeds. this week I deleted the speedo all together. I haven't had any issues with the bikes so far. the only thing I running as far as lights is rear running/brake and hi beam. I ctually dug into a little this weekend and did some rerouting and cutting plugs off and wiring them straight through. theres still a ton I want to get rid of but this my first efi sporty and im not sure what all I can do. my uncle owns a automotive electrical shop I may see about having him do a complete rewire this winter.

  7. #7
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1,615

    Default

    I did one of these EFI Sporty harnesses last winter. I do them as a modification of your stock harness. Check my Chopmarket thread, Broken Sprocket Garage.
    With no speedo, you wouldn't know if you had a DTC. You would need a code reader of some sort to plug into the Data Link, or use a Dynojet PowerVision or similar.
    You need the TSM from what I remember.

  8. #8
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1,722

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daroberts3 View Post
    I did one of these EFI Sporty harnesses last winter. I do them as a modification of your stock harness. Check my Chopmarket thread, Broken Sprocket Garage.
    With no speedo, you wouldn't know if you had a DTC. You would need a code reader of some sort to plug into the Data Link, or use a Dynojet PowerVision or similar.
    You need the TSM from what I remember.
    I'm planning on picking up the PowerVision, and keeping it on the bars pretty much 90% of the time. I've seen folks completely removing the TSM... Do you need it to flash the ECU or what?

  9. #9
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1,615

    Default

    I don't know how that works out with removing the TSM. It has a serial data link communications with the ECM. They need each other to work properly. Please post a link to others who have eliminated the TSM, I am curious how they did it.

  10. #10
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1,722

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daroberts3 View Post
    I don't know how that works out with removing the TSM. It has a serial data link communications with the ECM. They need each other to work properly. Please post a link to others who have eliminated the TSM, I am curious how they did it.
    Here's the primary thread about it:
    http://xlforum.net/vbportal/forums/s...d.php?t=847440

    I knew about the serial data link, which is what had me nervous.

  11. #11
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    88

    Default

    http://s1116.photobucket.com/user/ky...kinny.jpg.html

    this is what im using.. it may hep you

  12. #12
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    247

    Default

    Here is an updated diagram of what I did on my 2010 883. I forgot to take out the low fuel LED on the diagram but I ditched that as well. Been running like this for a couple years now with no issues whatsoever, however I have not tried to tune it.
    I was also curios if that would work or not.
     photo Wiringharness_skinny_1.jpg
    Last edited by slimpickins; 07-16-2015 at 10:03 AM.

  13. #13
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1,722

    Default

    Thanks guys. I may just get the bike tuned before stripping down the wiring, then. Or go to carb... ugh lol

  14. #14
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1,615

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pendulum View Post
    Here's the primary thread about it:
    http://xlforum.net/vbportal/forums/s...d.php?t=847440

    I knew about the serial data link, which is what had me nervous.
    This link is for carb'd models. EFI is different. Still not sure how this is accomplished.

    Slimpickins, did you remove your TSSM/TSM? If so what did you need todo to make the bike run?

  15. #15
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    136

    Default

    I did this on my efi with no problems at all with removing my tsm http://xlforum.net/vbportal/forums/s...d.php?t=847440

  16. #16
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1,722

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joe78 View Post
    I did this on my efi with no problems at all with removing my tsm http://xlforum.net/vbportal/forums/s...d.php?t=847440
    Can you still communicate with the ECM with a tuner? I'm looking at the Dynojet Power Vision specifically, but if you've been able to tune the bike with the TSM removed with any tuner, it gives me hope.

  17. #17
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1,615

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joe78 View Post
    I did this on my efi with no problems at all with removing my tsm http://xlforum.net/vbportal/forums/s...d.php?t=847440
    This is the same link.
    '04 to '08(?) XL'S are carb'd
    OP has en EFI XL.
    Are you sayin you made the changes mentioned on the link on your EFI XL?

  18. #18
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Yes my bike is a2009 .i have not had my tsm for 3 years now. No problems at all. I use a techculsion box .



    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	16.0 KB 
ID:	62004
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	288.4 KB 
ID:	62005

  19. #19
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    88

    Default

    I tried to do this to my 2010.. cut the TSM and all the other shit you don't need out, I can ge the bike to turn over but it wont fire up.. only thing Ive realized is I should of bought a carb bike.. this sucks. haha

Share This



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in