CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
  1. #1
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    29

    Default Yet again, another electrical help question...

    So I've hardtailed my sporty, re located a few things but im hooking up my stock loom now and don't have power.. Ive checked terminals and they are good, i have 12v out of my battery running to the solenoid but nothing coming out from there. Threw in an inline 30A fuse for my main fuse because i thought that was blown but that didnt do anything...

    Should i have 12v running out of my starter to the Voltage Reg? With key on or off I don't have any juice running out of Solenoid/starter.. Ultimately no power to lights. I have some other grounds (not bat ground) bolted to a fender now because i haven't cut anything and the wires are pretty short... Whos up for helping a guy out?


  2. #2
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1,615

    Default

    Don't use a fuse. Use a 30 A circuit breaker liked used on stock XLs. Where is the fuse getting power from.?
    The voltage regulator sends charging system voltage back to the main circuit breaker silver post and then to the battery.
    Wait a minute, what year XL ?

  3. #3
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    29

    Default

    2000. So i cannot replace the 30A breaker with a 30A Fuse?

  4. #4
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    9,463

    Default

    Replacing a breaker with a fuse is braindead (why build in a disadvantage?) but you can if you want.

    Use a blade fuse, not delicate glass junk, and later you can plug in a blade breaker if desired.

  5. #5
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2,927

    Default

    When did they start using that giat "maxi" fuse? Anyway, I think the PO wants to know where the power to his ignition switch comes from.
    Off the top of my head, I think the the juice is stolen from the solenoid lug to the main harness. Look for a red wire with a large ring terminal on it. Good luck.
    Get the manual and/or a wiring diagram at least.

Share This



Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in