Slightly different take on a build thread...

Collapse

Desktop Ad Forum Top

Collapse

Mobile ad top forum

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • aurbanphoto
    • May 2014

Slightly different take on a build thread...

So I've been a long time lurker, but this is my first post. I've found a lot of inspiration, and found answers to many a question... so thank you to all of you asking questions, answering questions, and building rad stuff in your shops/garages/backyards!!!

Now that that's out of the way, a little bit about myself and this project. Well, I'm a photographer by profession and was looking to build myself a bike as well as shoot a personal project that would give me a nice collection of images for a gallery show and possibly a coffee table book... whatever, I just needed a release, something to build with my hands, a way to stay out of trouble in my free time. Needless to say it has completely consumed me for the past year and a half.

Soooo, here is a lil iPhone snap of where I started, '81 xs650, non running, non titled, just an engine, a frame, and a box of mostly useless rusty and crusty crap...

Attached Files
    Last edited by aurbanphoto; 02-07-2015, 7:37 PM.
  • aurbanphoto
    • May 2014

first obstacle... get title. did an online records search on the vin, not stolen. called out the local sherifs to take a look and run the vin again, still not stolen, last time it was registered was in early 90's. tracked down the original owner, sent a letter... nothing. super frustrating!!! after extensive research, i found a very nice gentleman in orlando that handles this sort of situation, and for next to nothing on top of the standard title and transfer fees, dude handled all the legal bs in dealing with mvd and got the thing titled in my name. if you find yourself in the same situation, shoot me a message and i will gladly share his contact info with you.

Comment

• aurbanphoto
      • May 2014