CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Hybrid View

Default '78 XLCH learning how to build, build.

Ok, so a little bit about me. I have zero mechanical experience except fixing my car with my dad, and working on my bmx bike. I still canít figure out my mountain bikes. I started with an í81 Honda cb650c, fixed it a little bit and rode it for a year or two. Then got a í75 cb750k, which needed a lot of love so I was able to get my hands a little dirtier. Then I wanted to get into the chopper world, and picked up this í78 XLCH sportster from a guy who owned it for the last 25 years. This is what it looked like when I brought it home-

Got it in fall, rode it around a bunch and throughout the winter since I was pretty close to work at the time. took the apes off cause I really wasnít a fan. Girlfriend was a champ about it-

My opinion about bikes changes all the time as I get more into it. So the apes went back on. I think these forks are about 4 over, which I also wasnít super into

So I put on stock length (maybe?) and some fork gaiters.

then put some biltwell chumps on there, since I liked the look of the apes but not the big rise. then rode it around like that for awhile. took it to some riding spots

another view of the chumps

wanted to start cleaning it up a bit, so I bought a grinder and started removing the reflector perches and fender mounts

after grinding I used some hand files and eventually some kind of sandpaper. could of been more anal about it but looked good enough for me

then I started thinking about hard tailing.. started collecting some parts and mocking it up. at the time I was stoked on how it looked

wanted to stop those pesky oil leaks, so googled how to take off the pushrods. and replaced the cork seals