CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
Page 1 of 3 123 Last
  1. #1
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    84

    Default EFI Sportster 48 to Carb Conversion Pros and Cons?

    Well im just about bought into swapping to carbs and scrapping a HUGE heap of wires on my bike. I plan on going hardtail next winter and want to eliminate all of the extra junk that comes with an EFI sportster.

    What I wanted to know is if this is a good idea. I heard that the low idle doesnt distribute oil very well and could kill your motor, and Ive also heard its a lot better way to tune your bike in instead of messing with fuel maps. What do you all have to say?

  2. #2
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    240

    Default

    Going carbed and having a low idle are not related. You can SET a lower idle with a carb, but why would you? Keep the idle at the same number as you currently have, and the method of induction is irrelevant.

    That aside, I just converted my Twin-Cam and it runs great:
    http://www.chopcult.com/forum/showthread.php?t=26807

    "Better" way to tune your bike depends on who's tuning it. You can get much more accurate fuel delivery amounts with fuel injection because it adjusts every millisecond to outside temperature, air pressure, elevation, etc. but in reality, riding down the road, you won't likely notice a difference between the two unless you climb a 10,000 foot mountain and don't richen your carburetor. The argument of which one is "better" could go on for 100 pages, but both carbs and injection have been used for DECADES each, and each has worked well when tuned properly. I would say mine runs better, sounds better, and has more pull switching to carb, just because it's getting more fuel. The stock injection maps from Harley are anemic for emissions.

    I've heard that the sportsters are easier to convert than the twin-cams just because more people have done them. I think there's more info out there for sporty's also.
    Last edited by HRK123; 02-12-2013 at 10:33 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1,615

    Default

    What will you use for ignition? Enlighten me , as I have not seen anything on the market for that engine. You will still have lots of wires if you use a stock carbureted harness.
    Leave it alone, you will ruin the bike.

  4. #4
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1,316

    Default

    Geeze. Sour Sally over here... Take it easy.

    There's 2 aftermarket ignitions that come to mind. The thunder heart and the one from Germany are the 2 I've heard of. I've seen the German one and its incredibly simple. The whole bike runs on like 6 wires and is tuneable right there with 3 little knobs. The box itself is about as big as a cigarette box. Super cool set up.

  5. #5
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    355

    Default

    Altmann AMM-P

  6. #6
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1,316

    Default

    Yeah! That's the one. I'd buy it for my carbed sporty just for the simplicity of it! Just spendy though...

  7. #7
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    355

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MercuryMoto67 View Post
    Yeah! That's the one. I'd buy it for my carbed sporty just for the simplicity of it! Just spendy though...
    Most German things are, but they last forever.

  8. #8
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daroberts3 View Post
    What will you use for ignition? Enlighten me , as I have not seen anything on the market for that engine. You will still have lots of wires if you use a stock carbureted harness.
    Leave it alone, you will ruin the bike.
    If I had this mentality, I would never learn anything. And if you are wondering, I plan on running without a Speedo, turn signals, and hard wiring my brights and whatever I can do to get it to bare minimum.

    Here a link to a thread on subtracting almost all of the EFI's wiring harness:
    http://www.chopcult.com/forum/showth...=12369&page=10

    I hope to try and follow down that road but in the end, Id like to be running a carb, a plug in for reading codes, and lights.

    This is how she sits right now. I have a lot of plans for it. I won't ever sell this bike and I have a vision in my head of what I want so thats why I wanted to know what you guys who know what they are doing think about the idea.


  9. #9
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    84

    Default

    I checked out that ignition:

    http://www.amm.haan.de/EFI_to_carb_X..._XL_models.htm

    It sounds like the bike can run without the stock harness.

  10. #10
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1,316

    Default

    You are correct. You can rewire your whole bike with scraps of wires. Maybe not in the literal term, but very little wiring. I think the only sensor you'll need to keep is the crank sensor. Could be wrong though. I didn't read their site. :/

  11. #11
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    739

    Default

    I think the bikes already ruined so go for it! Hahaha j/k but I know where your at 08 nightster and everybody thinks its some 60s junker that I pieced together. The look on their face when I tell em what year it is is priceless.

  12. #12
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeffy View Post
    I think the bikes already ruined so go for it! Hahaha j/k but I know where your at 08 nightster and everybody thinks its some 60s junker that I pieced together. The look on their face when I tell em what year it is is priceless.
    Dude we are in the same boat haha. I LOVE MY BIKE more than good sex and a juicy steak. It is one muddy, thrashed, sick bike pieced together from parts I can get my hands on (like parts off my '80 honda). But its my bike and I don't care how many times I get sneered at or talked down to by an H-D PROUD OWNER FOR 25 YEARS, I will still signal the bird and ride anyways. That being said, it is for sure going through puberty. Lack of time, a new apartment, and a 300 dollar speeding ticket will all three contribute to some work being pushed back on the bike haha. Thank you for the kind words btw Keep rockin it buddy

  13. #13
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MercuryMoto67 View Post
    You are correct. You can rewire your whole bike with scraps of wires. Maybe not in the literal term, but very little wiring. I think the only sensor you'll need to keep is the crank sensor. Could be wrong though. I didn't read their site. :/
    Do you have any idea where I could find a diagram to give me an idea of how to run two separate circuits like that? just curious, if not I will search around.

  14. #14
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1,316

    Default

    Separate circuits? Use a fuse block. Or breakers... Whatever you'd like. The ignition module is just that. You run everything off the fuses, including the ignition.

  15. #15
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    355

    Default

    Yeah with the Altmann, you need the CPS, but aside from that it's pretty effing minimal!

  16. #16
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,899

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daroberts3 View Post
    What will you use for ignition? Enlighten me , as I have not seen anything on the market for that engine. You will still have lots of wires if you use a stock carbureted harness.
    Leave it alone, you will ruin the bike.
    ChopCult not StockCult.

  17. #17
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jackster View Post
    Yeah with the Altmann, you need the CPS, but aside from that it's pretty effing minimal!
    Is there any other options apart from a $700 dollar german part?

    I wish more people were crazy enough to scrap EFI and go carb on bikes these days, Cept most of the guys riding the shiney new bikes KEEP them that way haha.
    Last edited by Trippster48; 02-13-2013 at 10:11 AM.

  18. #18
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1,316

    Default

    Yes... There are. I listed them earlier. C'mon. Look up thunder heart ignition. I've never used it or seen it, but its cheaper.

  19. #19
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    473

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trippster48 View Post
    I wish more people were crazy enough to scrap EFI and go carb on bikes these days, Cept most of the guys riding the shiney new bikes KEEP them that way haha.
    I'd say most of those crazy people would just rather buy a slightly older carbed sporty for 1/3 the price of a new one, and use all the extra cash to make it your own. None of the sporty models are so radically different in style, that you couldn't recreate it yourself. Why bother buying an EFI bike if you're just gonna revert to a carb? To each his own I guess.

  20. #20
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    240

    Default

    Why bother doing anything custom if you can just go out and buy a bike someone else chopped? Because it's fucking fun and challenging, that's why. This is chop cult, right?

    Regarding the ignition and wiring questions above, I used the Thunder Heart. Just a few wires and it installed no problem. Comes with it's own coil, I'd guess you could also use the Harley coil. For the price of that German unit I did the entire swap with the Thunder Heart, including the cost of the intake and carb. No idea on longevity, but I've read threads on them and guys have been using them for years with no problem. I think all of the Big Dog bikes came with them. Not that this counts for much, but those guys don't seem to be having any ignition issues.

    For wiring, I did my own harness from scratch. I think I'm using 4 fuses and 2 breakers for the whole bike. I ripped out the entire stock harness and built my own. If you get a good chopper wiring diagram and adapt it where needed, it's not too difficult.
    Last edited by HRK123; 02-13-2013 at 11:37 AM.

Share This



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in