CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
Page 3 of 3 First 123
  1. #41
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    356

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ruckus2115 View Post
    eh....i got lazy and just ordered one up from zippers....it came with everything and like someone has just said the guy was able to have all the different ratios depending on what you wanted.
    how much was it?

  2. #42
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    109

    Default

    Thanks for the verification,Twinkies.


    As per the 23/48 combo,it brings the engine revs down some at highway speeds.
    Good idea if you spend much time on the highway on a Sporty.

  3. #43
    gravitywerx
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryC58 View Post
    Thanks for the verification,Twinkies.


    As per the 23/48 combo,it brings the engine revs down some at highway speeds.
    Good idea if you spend much time on the highway on a Sporty.
    good to know for when i do it...of course by the time i get around to it i will have lost this thread....

  4. #44
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    503

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mike1407 View Post
    how much was it?
    it was around 375
    http://www.zippersperformance.com/ca...=588&prod=2167
    it comes with everything and really is a direct bolt on. pbi sprockets and a rk chain. correct spacers and stuff.....yea i know it is kinda expensive but it was worth the extra cost to just order it from one company in case i needed to return anything. the whole tax refund also helped the decision. i forget what number of teeth front and back i got but it is similar to stock.

  5. #45
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    355

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Twinkies View Post
    I was a little confused at first about this too... here's the deal... the PBI sprocket comes with that one allen screw taped to the box. When the 1-7/8" sprocket nut is tightened, the set screw should fit all the way into 1 of those 3 holes which will be on the flat side of the nut somewhere. Its just a set screw to keep the nut from backing off. Use loc-tite. The two bolt "plate' like pictured above is just for the belt sprocket, you wont re-use it on the PBI chain sprocket in the Zippers kit.
    because im lazy and dont want to figure it out myself do you know what size that retainer screw is??

  6. #46
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    355

    Default

    or a better question yet is..how in the hell did you guys get that drive sprocket nut off?????!!!!!!

  7. #47
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    90

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by doppleganger87 View Post
    or a better question yet is..how in the hell did you guys get that drive sprocket nut off?????!!!!!!
    When I did mine (Zippers, by the way) I used a 1/2" impact with an adapter and six-dollar 3/4" drive Tractor Supply socket. I don't remember it being a huge deal, but if I remember correctly, it may have had some red loc-tite from the factory. I didn't want to leave my transmission in gear, so I wrapped a snapped belt around it and secured it with vice grips.
    I don't remember if it was left or right hand threads, maybe someone else has a better memory than me.

  8. #48
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    355

    Default

    yea it does have left handed threads..i put everything back together and am using the bike with a chalk block while its in 1st trying to get the nut to break free with a BFW and am still not getting anywhere!maybe i have to find an impact.....

  9. #49
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    90

    Default

    Impacts are a hell of a tool for crap like that. Good luck, man

  10. #50
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    174

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by doppleganger87 View Post
    yea it does have left handed threads..i put everything back together and am using the bike with a chalk block while its in 1st trying to get the nut to break free with a BFW and am still not getting anywhere!maybe i have to find an impact.....
    i'm having the same problem. everytime I tried to unloosen the bolt I'm turning the whole motor over.

    it's left hand threads right so are you turning it clockwise as well? anyone want to give us a few pointers?

  11. #51
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    174

    Default

    nevermind. i finally got the fucker out. look at what i had to do. inside the nut threading was a stripe of red locktite with a line of rust.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails photo.jpg  

  12. #52
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    940

    Default

    On my 96, I kept the belt on, pushed the bikes front wheel against a sturdy object. Now the important part....I used an impact driver. For install I believe I sat on the bike while I had the new chain on the sprockets, and torqued to specs.

    Looks like you figured most of it out. But anyways, here's my HOW-TO....
    http://www.chopcult.com/forum/showth...ain+conversion

  13. #53
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,673

    Default

    is there any advantage to chain over belt or belt over chain? just curious...

  14. #54
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    298

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Skyhigh88 View Post
    is there any advantage to chain over belt or belt over chain? just curious...
    From my limited knowledge, belts can last longer than a chain. Belts are less maintenance.

    I believe chains are a bit cheaper and of course they look right on a motorcycle.

    For me I'm changing over to a chain for two reasons: #1. looks. #2. a chain is cheaper. #3. I dig messing with a chain. I actually like working on my stuff. Comuning with the machine...know what I mean?

    Yeah that's 3 reasons.

Share This



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in