CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  1. #1
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default Banjo Bolt Brake Light Switch

    I'm installing a banjo bolt with brake switch built in. It has a hole going all the way through the side of the bolt that intersects with the hole going through the length of the bolt. However, on the factory bolt, the hole on the side of the bolt only goes halfway through (meeting the hole drilled through the length of the bolt). Does this matter? Will it still work? I've attached a picture showing the bolt with a toothpick going through the hole in question (bolt on left).
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Banjo Bolts.jpg  

  2. #2
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Same one I use on my bike. Works like a champ!

  3. #3
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    365

    Default

    These work great! I just added one on my Shovel directly to the MC so I could get rid of the shitty brake light switch. I had to cut the threads down a little so everything fit nice and tight...



    Last edited by lvvato; 12-20-2012 at 10:44 AM.

  4. #4
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    620

    Default

    You guys and your fancy switches.

  5. #5
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    41

    Default

    They work great until you break the wires off. Make sure you protect the wires some how, put some heat shrink over the plastic housing it comes with.

  6. #6
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    41

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lvvato View Post
    These work great! I just added one on my Shovel directly to the MC so I could get rid of the shitty brake light switch. I had to cut the threads down a little so everything fit nice and tight...

    Triple stacking washers is a little "ghetto" and makes it more prone to leaks. Why not cut the bolt down a little more?

  7. #7
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    272

    Default

    tripple ditto on shitcanning the stacked washers. asking for brakes that don't work when you need them.

    the hole in the bolt feeds into the channel of the banjo. no difference, only better.

    moco prolly went halfway through to save money on drill bits

  8. #8
    ARBY
    Guest

    Default

    Ooooh fuck. Why am I just hearing about this switch now? Come on guys. Don't I always share stuff with you? Where do I get one 'a them thingies and how much are they???

  9. #9
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    137

    Default

    What is the thread size? I need one of these for my '02 sporty rear caliper.

    Here is a boot to cover the wires.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/custom-chopp...f6cb15&vxp=mtr
    Last edited by WhiteFox; 12-23-2012 at 8:55 AM.

  10. #10
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2,892

    Default

    I think those switches are made in china because the one on my bike lasted only 6 months
    They are rad though, & that is why I replaced it with the same switch

  11. #11
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I got mine from pegassus racing they do car racing parts.I had a little bit of trouble locating one the right size and thread for an 05 sportster.Im putting it on front master cylinder so I can remove handlebar switches.

  12. #12
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    265

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ARBY View Post
    Ooooh fuck. Why am I just hearing about this switch now? Come on guys. Don't I always share stuff with you? Where do I get one 'a them thingies and how much are they???
    Lowbrow has them.http://www.lowbrowcustoms.com/index...._detail&p=2746

  13. #13
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    329

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cabinetjesus View Post
    will that work for my front brake?if i wanted to use one on my front mc

  14. #14
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    205

    Default

    Yep, work on whatever. Make sure you get the right thread's, they come in a few different sizes. Running one front and rear on mine.

  15. #15
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Does anyone have pics of the front and where would it connect to?

  16. #16
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1,618

    Default

    Any Drag Specialties or Parts Unlimited Street catalog has these switches in multiple SAE and Metric thread pitches.

  17. #17
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    493

    Default

    This is true. Make sure you leave a little slack. I just broke one myself. Had it to tight for to long.


    Quote Originally Posted by pj View Post
    They work great until you break the wires off. Make sure you protect the wires some how, put some heat shrink over the plastic housing it comes with.

  18. #18
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    17

    Default

    I am about to do this. I have an 89 sporty. Can someone add some insight to this. Does one wire get grounded and the other gets connected to????

    Thanks

  19. #19
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1,618

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BocaJRS View Post
    I am about to do this. I have an 89 sporty. Can someone add some insight to this. Does one wire get grounded and the other gets connected to????

    Thanks
    One wire provides voltage into the switch, the brake fluid pressure closes the switch and the voltage continues it's path on the other wire which goes to the brake light
    One wire is power in, the second is power out to the brake light.

  20. #20
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    39

    Default

    they work great just keep tension off the wires as they are super thin. I usually load the shit out of the end with liquid electrical tape than shrink wrap over the plastic so it has some flex but holds it in a bit better.

Share This



Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in