CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Default Help fixing my paint job please

Hey guys I need some help because I've never done any painting and have read what I can find about it so far but I figure I'd ask here because you motherfuckers know pretty much everything.

Ok so when my bike was delivered to me the gas cap that was on didn't seem to fit right on my alien tank and from the bumpy ride gas had leaked out and spilled on the tank a bit. I wiped it off but it ate through the clear coat a bit. What I am asking is can I repair this by sanding the section down and re-clearing it or do I have to do the whole tank over? Any advice here would be great thanks in advance.

Get Adobe Flash player

I'm no pro but i have painted my share of things. I would no question sand the whole surface of the tank personally, I like to use 1000 grit. If you just sand that area then try and just put clear on it I cant see that working very well at all you'll probably get runs where you didn't sand. The base coat really needs to be roughed up before the clear will stick. Then when its fully dried I wet sand it all with 2000 to get any orange peel out then use a buffer to get it back to shine. Time and patience my friend lol

Get Adobe Flash player

can't help with the paint fix, BUT, when you're done, be sure to add a second rubber gasket to the underside of the gas cap. keep the gas in the tank.

good luck with the paint fix

Get Adobe Flash player

a pic might be easier to see.

Get Adobe Flash player

Thanks for the replies. I got a new cap right after I noticed it, I should have mentioned that. Also I'll get a pic of the damage uploaded in a few.

Get Adobe Flash player