Email Password Mobile Version / Desktop Version
Search
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    203

    Default How do you hide your wiring?

    So as it states, how do you guys hide your wiring? I have a sportster sport 1200. I am installing minni switches on my handle bars to keep it looking clean up front. I will be putting a 2.4 gallon sporty tank on and moving it back towards the seat. So there will be open back bone exposed and I plan on relocating the ign switch and module. Just looking for some ideas on how you guys hide your wiring.

    Tank will be set up similar to this:

    Photo and bike cred http://www.hidemo.net/

  2. #2
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    597

    Default

    run the wires thru the inside of the backbone.

  3. #3
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,763

    Default

    thats one crazy looking front tire. that thing los HUGE!!

    Agreewith running it through the back bone

  4. #4
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    203

    Default

    So just drill a hole in the bottom of the backbone or what? Wont this compromise the structure?

  5. #5
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    329

    Default

    Hide wires? fuck that. some of mine are wrapped in tape and others are just there for everyone to see.

  6. #6
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,106

    Default

    I did nt hide my wires .........I left em right on top of the trash can when I tore em all out.

  7. #7
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    238

    Default

    I dont think it would hurt. I dont know how many wires you are running through the frame but my guess is the hole needed wouldnt big too big. Guys have been doing it for years.

  8. #8
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    203

    Default

    Awesome, a little more simple than I thought. I shouldn't have much going up there, kill switch, headlight, and a toggle for signals so 5 wires I think?

  9. #9
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    326

    Default

    lol... signals

  10. #10
    Junior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    8

    Default

    If you're dead-set on hiding them, I'd go with inside the backbone as others have mentioned.
    However, personally, I'd just run them along the backbone as discreetly as possible. The reasoning in my head is preparing for the worst. If you're ever road-side and have to work on your bike, it's a lot easier. Then again, I'm a function over form kinda guy. Wiring is copper and can break at any time for a multitude of reasons. To each their own.

  11. #11
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    205

    Default

    I did the backbone set up too. Still riding fine after 10k and a year. But if something ever goes wrong I'll hate my life. Hopefully I've wrecked it, totaled it, or sold it before any wiring goes bad. Tracking internal handle bar to internal backbone wiring might cause me to have a stroke.

  12. #12
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    803

    Default

    Drilling a hole in the backbone will affect the integrity but very minimally, how big a hole will you be cutting? Some people will weld a nut in there to give the hole some solidity and sometimes to mount a tank. Personally I don't see the nut having much of a difference structurally. Tons of guys do this so it's acceptably safe IMHO, but any holes in the frame are a potential risk. Let us know what you decide

  13. #13
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    203

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BIGHYDRO View Post
    lol... signals
    Yes signals, didn't have them on my old bike. But would like to have them there just not to get hassled. I dont really see the wiring getting ruined from running it threw the backbone. I will heat shrink the group of wires going threw there and make sure there are no sharp burs and all should be good. Once I finish building my bars the wiring will start. Maybe after all I might not run them in the backbone if its a huge pain. Just wanted to hear your opinions.

  14. #14
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    389

    Default

    running through the frame gives the cleanest look, it's worth the hassle.
    i put in 3 extra wires, just in case.... if i have used up 2 of the extra wires i can use the third for pulling new wires in..




    and to keep it extra clean i put all the connections in the headlight.


    just be sure you have smooth holes and use some styrdy heatshrink where the cables exit the frame.

  15. #15
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    238

    Default

    If you ran them outside you could use those little stainless p looking clamps. Lets see the rest of that ironhead.

Share This



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
NEWS   FORUM   EVENTS   CLASSIFIEDS   BLOGDUMP   COMMUNITY   MEMBERS
CHOP CULT HOME

Advertise    |    Contact    |    2009ChopCult    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct

Chopcult on Facebook