CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Default Fiberglass Seatpan

Im sure a few of you have made one or two. Any advice? Im attempting to make one this weekend because I can't find anything I like and making shit is way cooler than buying it. I've never done any fiberglass work before. Any tips or tricks I should know?

Get Adobe Flash player

use weave not chop mat, if you are making to it fit on the frame rails do it on the bike so it fits snugly, mask and paper everything below it on each side and about 2 feet in front of and behind it. Make sure you saturate the glass with resin very well and push out all air bubbles. One of the most common mistakes i see is people think " too much hardener cant be that bad" and then their part end up failing because of it. So add some hardener but not too much, Its better to have to put it under a heat lamp and wait awhile than to add too much hardener.

BigMikeOlley

http://www.jeffreyphipps.com/seat_pans.htm

I've made 3-4 this way, Also I use turtle wax for release on the aluminum tape. Glass matt for sure, definately buy a box of disposable gloves.

Get Adobe Flash player

Things learned the hard way:

a)Bike level, with more masking then you need...a lot more

b)Don't forget to place any mounts into the glass as you build up the seat pan.

c) PART-A and PART-A do not make for good seat pans. I recomend using part A and part B for better results..

Get Adobe Flash player

Not to hijack...but I think I'll ask it here rather than start a new thread.

What is the best method to attach the seat cover to the fiberglass pan? Pop rivets like you use on a metal pan?

Thanks.
    Brian

Get Adobe Flash player

I used pop rivits, I also placed strips of sheet metal in the glass when I was building it up so the rivits had something to grab.

Get Adobe Flash player