CHOP CULT HOME
Email Password
Search
Page 1 of 3 123 Last
  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    112

    Default Eliminitaing stock handlbar switches on Sportster

    So, i have come to the decission that something just have to be done. I cant live with the stock controls...it gives me nightmares and i sleep bad..

    So...
    1: clutchlever/setup must be ditched and replaced with something smoother. You know of some that will fit without to much hassle?

    2: Left side controls; whats left - high/low beam, and horn. Since i do a lot of riding on highly trafficated roads, i think i would like to keep the horn, and this i guess, will do the job as a replacement: http://www.lowbrowcustoms.com/index...._detail&p=1487

    3: Front brake pump. Needs a new brakeline so the stock can be removed. Also looking for a new master that has is smaller, any good choises? (would like to use one from a MX, but im not going to switch for 7/8" handlebar).

    4: Right side controls. I need a kill switch, and i need a start switch.
    So... Should i just the same switch as in (2) as kill switch, or start? And have should i solve the remaining switch then? I dont want to rewire to much...

  2. #2
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    90

    Default

    I'll be doing the same as I'm trying to clean up the mess of my EFI wires / switches.

    I'm looking into these:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/260718564122...84.m1436.l2649

    Hope that helps.

  3. #3

    Default

    I did my Softail about 4 years ago..the only switch I needed to keep was a start button, drilled the side of my console and put a micro switch in there for that. If your switch/control setup is anything like a Softail, with the switches off, you'll have a ridge toward the center of the bars on the 'cap' section that holds your controls to the bars..a file can take care of that pretty easily. It's not a hard job to do. As far as master cylinder, I kept the stock one but actually started working on a new idea today (which costs almost nothing, using your stock master cylinder). Hopefully I can finish it tomorrow and i'll post it if it works as it should and maybe you can get some ideas from it. I have seen guys use sport bike/dirt bike masters..just machine the bar clamp to 1" instead of 7/8".

  4. #4
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,943

  5. #5
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    112

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MLee1200N View Post
    I'll be doing the same as I'm trying to clean up the mess of my EFI wires / switches.

    I'm looking into these:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/260718564122...84.m1436.l2649

    Hope that helps.
    Those look great, thanks!!!
    One on each side, and im covered

  6. #6
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    148

    Default

    If you want the handlebars really clean, it might be possible to hide the switches somewhere else? For example under the tank.

    I am also cleaning up the bars on my . Hope to see pictures when you're done!

  7. #7
    aalsugha
    Guest

    Default

    these guys make a valve that combines the plumbing from the rear and front that will allow you to get rid of the resevoir and lever completely. I'm not sure how braking will feel like after it is installed but it will get the job done. it is the 5th product down.

    On the other hand this is a plug and play set of switches which are pricey but will allow you to get rid of your switch clusters

    hope this helps

  8. #8

  9. #9
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    503

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by michaelbarry View Post
    I did my Softail about 4 years ago..the only switch I needed to keep was a start button, drilled the side of my console and put a micro switch in there for that. If your switch/control setup is anything like a Softail, with the switches off, you'll have a ridge toward the center of the bars on the 'cap' section that holds your controls to the bars..a file can take care of that pretty easily. It's not a hard job to do. As far as master cylinder, I kept the stock one but actually started working on a new idea today (which costs almost nothing, using your stock master cylinder). Hopefully I can finish it tomorrow and i'll post it if it works as it should and maybe you can get some ideas from it. I have seen guys use sport bike/dirt bike masters..just machine the bar clamp to 1" instead of 7/8".
    they make a button that goes on you seilnoid so you can just start the bike there then you can get rid of all the wires on the bars, put one on my fxd, works awesome, try to post a pic so you can see what I am talking about.

  10. #10
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,585

    Default

    Here is a couple of pics from my build. These are stock sportster hand controls with the switch houseings removed and ground down with a flapper disc and finished with a dremel and a palm sander then spray painted.




    I think the MC doesnt look quite as big with all the other stuff removed. As for switchs I am running a starter button located on side panel behind the battery and a horn button mounted on a coil bracket I fabbed.



    I'm not running a kill switch right now , but if I decide to I can just mount a simple toggle on the gray hot wire going to the coil and mount it on the same bracket.

  11. #11
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,943

    Default

    Dirt - IMO, this is the cleanest way to keep hand controls at the thumb ready while cleaning up your bars. This is my goal, except I am going to do a smaller MC set up like the one I posted above.


    Check out this guys blog, he has an entire how to on his set up.
    Sweet handlebars

    Also, the link I posted earlier for handlebar switches are cheaper than the Japanese eBay listing you saw, plus they are made in the USA and are nearly identical. They come raw so you can paint, pc or chrome them. Check it out.

  12. #12
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    112

    Default

    Brooklynbomber: That is exactly how it should look!!!!


    ...btw, im on my way..:

  13. #13
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,943

    Default

    what is the left side clutch perch? Heavily chopped stock one? Looks so skinny and clean.

  14. #14
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    112

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brooklynbomber View Post
    what is the left side clutch perch? Heavily chopped stock one? Looks so skinny and clean.
    It was actually meant for my panhead (that i dont have anymore), not sure if i can make it fit.. but i might do with some modifications. I`ll update when i've had the time to look at it.

  15. #15
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    65

    Default

    you can eliminate the starter button as well by putting it right on the starter itself.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/70-330-Chrom...item45f3a367d9

  16. #16
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    112

    Default

    Can someone tell if the riser bolts will hold up if i drill a hole in them for wires? Or is that a bad idea..?
    Then i could pull the wires inside the bars all the way from the switches to the bottom of the riser bolts.

  17. #17
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    899

    Default

    There is quite a few company's now doin these small units,good choices out there,when I get some spare cash I'm getting some mini controls!

  18. #18
    Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    73

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dirt78 View Post
    Can someone tell if the riser bolts will hold up if i drill a hole in them for wires? Or is that a bad idea..?
    Then i could pull the wires inside the bars all the way from the switches to the bottom of the riser bolts.
    I would advise against that...

    Not really sure what the benefit would be honestly. Funny, but those are actually my bars that brooklynbomber posted above, and the wires are not a problem at all for me. Plus, I suspect those bolts are too small to even drill out a hole big enough to house them, at least not without making the threads prone to failure in the process.

    Generally speaking, I would consider weakening critical fasteners, such as bolts securing the handlebars to the bike, to be "poor judgement."

    But that's just my opinion. Thanks.

  19. #19
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,585

    Default

    ahhhh , whats the worst that could happen? I mean its not like your handlebars would come off as your laying into some twisties , and ya know I mean safety smafety whatever buy a Volvo.

    No but seriously dont go drilling holes thru your riser bolts.

  20. #20
    Senior Member

    Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

    Get Adobe Flash player


    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    112

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EPMD View Post
    I would advise against that...

    Not really sure what the benefit would be honestly. Funny, but those are actually my bars that brooklynbomber posted above, and the wires are not a problem at all for me. Plus, I suspect those bolts are too small to even drill out a hole big enough to house them, at least not without making the threads prone to failure in the process.

    Generally speaking, I would consider weakening critical fasteners, such as bolts securing the handlebars to the bike, to be "poor judgement."

    But that's just my opinion. Thanks.
    Benefit would be a cleaner look, nothing else... And since i of course know that this will weaken the bolts, i just thought i should ask if it could be done (i had my doubts though).
    Guess i just pull the wires out somewhere between the built in risers, and down from there... no big deal.

    Btw; EPMD: your setup looks good.

Share This



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in