Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • SportsterMike
    • Aug 2009

yamaha 650 guys... i gotta question.

ive been looking for a xs650 and i think i found one on the cheap. im new to jap bikes so the question is..

how can you tell a XJ650 from a XS650?

the bike is a 1973 ??650. i didn't get a chance to look at the VIN/title. 1/2 way home i remembered....
  • workingman
    • Sep 2009

the motor is way different. If it doesn't look like this its not a xs650
    Attached Files

Comment

• Hobbes
      • Sep 2009

XJ series are 4-cylinder, dohc, shaft-drive bikes. Made beginning in 1980 (I think.) Only thing they have in common with XS650 is the letter 'X'.

If your bike is a '73 yamaha with a 650cc twin motor (that looks like workingman's pic), it is a TX650. Yamaha changed the model designation to TX for 1973-1974, then changed it back to XS for 1975. Essentially the same bike, though.

HOWEVER, a 1973 bike will have the early 256-type motor (used 1970-1973), not the later 447-type motor (1974-1984). There is no obvious difference between the two, but there is some incompatability in the engine internals. 256 uses a 22mm piston pin, 447 uses 20mm. 256 uses a 34 tooth cam sprocket with 4-bolt cam chain tensioner, 447 uses 36 tooth with 6-bolt tensioner, and different chain pitch. Parts for 256 motors can be harder to find, since way more 447s were made by the end of the XS650 production run in '84. Most engine hop-up parts like big bore kits and hot cams are made for 447 motors and will not fit a 1973 motor.

That's probably way more about XS650s than you wanted to know. But if you want to tweak the motor, you might want to find a later power plant to work with. Send the '73 to me and I'll do a stock restoration, then sell it in 10 years and buy a house...

Comment

• philbey
        • Aug 2009

Damn, thats useful information Hobbes, I've been trying to find a nice clean concise explanation of the differences....

Comment

• SportsterMike
          • Aug 2009