PDA

View Full Version : CB750 vs XS650

daniels
02-03-2011, 8:21 AM
Hello guys. I'm a newbie to the forums. I just sold my FZ1 and am thinking of a CB750 or a XS650 to hardtail for the next project. Is one easier than the other as far as frame work, finding parts, and so on or are they about equal? I was leaning toward the 750 but now sort of thinking of the Yamaha.

Thanks in advance.

browder
02-03-2011, 8:57 AM
Cost wise about the same--i've done both--Honda sucks cause finding a decent set of pipes on a budget ain't always easy other than that they're the same you're gonna find more vintage after market stuff fer the Honda than the XS but i been stering away from alotta that old shit cause that's what alotta of it is shit--good luck with it

daniels
02-03-2011, 9:06 AM
Cost wise about the same--i've done both--Honda sucks cause finding a decent set of pipes on a budget ain't always easy other than that they're the same you're gonna find more vintage after market stuff fer the Honda than the XS but i been stering away from alotta that old shit cause that's what alotta of it is shit--good luck with it

Thanks man! I'm thinking the XS too just because it's 2 less carbs and stuff I have to worry about. I'm trying to do this on the cheap and make the bike as simple as possible.

Thanks again!

easyspeed
02-03-2011, 9:27 AM
I have a 70 CB750 hardtailed and a 72 xs650 in the procees of being hardtailed. I'de say for the least expensive maybe go with a xs. It all depends on what's out there though. If you find either one in good running condition than really your just looking at $80 worth of tubing. unless you're going to buy a prefabbed hardtail.

Check out mikes xs for xs650 parts and cyclex for cb750 parts

Either one will be just as much fun to build :cheersmate:

daniels
02-03-2011, 9:30 AM