PDA

View Full Version : Building and Wiring advice for the greenest of the green

Slurpee
01-26-2011, 11:16 PM
Hi there
I'm currently looking at buying a 1980 Kawaski 440 ltd belt driven bike to start on my very first chop project. The other two bikes I am trying to choose between are a 1977 KZ 650 and a 1979 650 XS Special. I see there are a LOT of people going the XS route but my dilemma is that the 440 is in the best shape and is the cheapest... not to mention I am intrigued by the belt drive. What bike would you recommend and why?

The thing I am most scared about is that I am a complete rookie/moron when it comes to wiring stuff. One of the things I want to do is get rid of as much electrical mumbo jumbo as possible to get the cleanest look. When I'm finished I'd like a tail light, headlight, and signal lights.... maybe a light on my speedo too!
Can I just go in there and tear everything out and start from scratch? Or is there an art I am going to have to learn to do it? If so is there a decent thread or a website somewhere that can get me pointed in the right direction?

Any advice will be very appreciated.

Hooligans
01-26-2011, 11:24 PM
the bike choice is completely up to you. I myself have a XS650... with that said the aftermarket for Jap bikes definitely favors the 650. I like seeing different bikes being used... something different.