PDA

View Full Version : switching from 7/8 to 1" bars?



dubs83virago
01-22-2011, 9:03 PM
i am really trying to eliminate all the cluster on the bars near the grips (turn signals, starter button, kill switch, ect). is converting everything over to 1" bars the only answer? or do they make throttle grips for 7/8" that dont come with all that crap. that, and if it is easier to stay with 7/8", who makes bars to fit?

grenade
01-22-2011, 9:16 PM
im going with a motorcross set up its all 7/8s no switches wires or buttons

Punkskalar
01-23-2011, 8:42 AM
I think 7/8 is much easier personally... You can use dirtbike stuff, Bicycle Stuff, Moped stuff, etc...

LowBrow sells a pretty cheap and decent throttle housing for both sizes if you need one, I've have about 3-4 of them on bikes around here and they all work fine.

Vinny
01-23-2011, 12:35 PM
Definitely stay with 7/8" when you start looking at 1" stuff you get into a bunch of harley overpriced shit. there is plenty of stuff out there for 7/8" I toyed with using all dirbike stuff for mine they make some cool stuff and you can find it cheap if you dont need super nice crhome or anything like that.

BillyT
01-23-2011, 1:52 PM
7/8s...

http://tylaska.net/bike/noswitches.JPG

Only thing that sucks is I lost my front brake light switch. But my front brake sucks anyway, so I am always on the rear, no big deal.

Throttle was 20 bucks from Dime City, brake lever with perch was 10, and clutch lever was 10 and clutch perch was 10, all from Cycle Gear.

EricWoodward
01-23-2011, 2:12 PM
Yeah man, Dime City has a few different options they stock, in black and chrome. The only reaso Id go to 1" is to run shit through the bars, but if you relocate all the wiring, no need.

tobiism
01-23-2011, 3:26 PM
I have these grips in 1". They are super comfy and also available in 7/8".
http://www.bikebandit.com/progrip-gel-duo-density-cruiser-model-842-grips

GrimCycleSalvage
01-23-2011, 4:54 PM
Easiest to stick with 7/8" Dirt bike throttles are good we sell them for 15 bucks. We ahve a xs we are converting to 1" using stock hd- mc and clutch perch. Motion pro makes the cables so they convert right. As usual it depends on your budget. H-D stuff has a ton of options and 1" feels better to me....personal preference.

Rich
01-24-2011, 6:52 AM
It all has to do with look some bikes look great with 1" bars and others look way cooler with 7/8 bars. I use VTX clutch perch on 1" bars easy to find look good and on EBAY . There are so many cool 7/8 bars out there that my first choice is 7/8 but if you go to useing springer you have to use 1" bars or it looks funny and you do a hell of alot of work to fit.
There are alot of Honda YAMAHA KAWASAKI SUZUKI cruisers that use 1" bars and there throttle and clutch perch look nice

dubs83virago
01-24-2011, 11:19 AM
7/8s...

http://tylaska.net/bike/noswitches.JPG

Only thing that sucks is I lost my front brake light switch. But my front brake sucks anyway, so I am always on the rear, no big deal.

Throttle was 20 bucks from Dime City, brake lever with perch was 10, and clutch lever was 10 and clutch perch was 10, all from Cycle Gear.



can you give me some info on those headlights? and is that a speedo sticking up between them?

dubs83virago
01-24-2011, 8:23 PM
and now that i look at it even closer...what did you do with your master cylinder?

WOMPY
01-24-2011, 10:40 PM
There's a couple threads here in the main forum on relocating your m/c. Or if you want to stick with it on the bars and looking for something clean and cheap: check out magura m/c on http://www.pingelonline.com/magura_master_cylinder.htm

ragnarok
01-25-2011, 6:02 AM
can you give me some info on those headlights? and is that a speedo sticking up between them?

those head lights look like the dominator.

http://www.streetfightermotorcycleparts.com/images/Matt%20Black%20Dominator%20Twin%20Round%20Headligh ts.jpg

They are all over ebay.

And yeah that is a speedo sticking up there, an Acewell unit. pretty cheap and ehh they work.

BillyT
01-25-2011, 7:33 AM
Yup, it's an acewell. I have it reading off the primary sprocket, works perfect, within a mph checked by GPS. Dime City has them for 209 I think... I paid 219.

http://tylaska.net/bike/ace1.JPG

And those are the headlights, and yeah, all over ebay. I paid 138 for the lights and 15 bucks for the brackets. Profile shot.... I shortened the brackets by about an inch and a half to tuck them in there better.

http://www.chopcult.com/uploads_user/10000/9872/48168.jpg



and now that i look at it even closer...what did you do with your master cylinder?

I have a front drum.

GreaseRagRob
01-26-2011, 4:01 AM
You can use British levers levers for 7/8 too. They're cheap and a pretty clean setup.

kyleshep
01-17-2012, 10:25 PM
How is the acewell gauge in direct sunlight? I want to get it but want to make sure the display and neutral light is visible in midday sun.