PDA

View Full Version : 76 xs650 battery/electrical relocation

Heis
09-14-2009, 11:18 AM
Whats up. just getting started on tearing down my 76 xs. I originally wanted to hardtail it but after doing some research might want to just stick with the softail (im building this so that my girl can ride with me cause my sportbike is to uncomfortable for her).

Has anyone relocated the battery and electrical to lower on the frame (like on many of the bobbers)? I want to try and clean up everything as much as possible by getting the battery to the bottom of the frame and everything else going in an oil can, but before I go hacking stuff up I want to know what will work and what won't. This is my first build so I am a little lost as to what direction it will be able to go. Thanks.

dannyb
09-14-2009, 12:44 PM
is there room to relocate the stock battery to the bottom of the frame without choping ( and stretching) it? I dont know. i do know that if you wanted to eliminate some stuff, and go kick start only, some guys have been using smaller batteries (scooter mabey) hidden in a pan benieth the seat. you could then hang the false oil bag full of electronics off it. thats what i plan to do with my street tracker.

scandia
09-15-2009, 4:27 PM
I am building one for my wife also. "Bratstyle" for lack of a better term. I am puting an AGM battery under the swingarm on the frame. its smaller than the standard battery but with the same cranking amps.

dannyb
09-15-2009, 5:26 PM
I am building one for my wife also. "Bratstyle" for lack of a better term. I am puting an AGM battery under the swingarm on the frame. its smaller than the standard battery but with the same cranking amps.

could you post more info on this battery?

philbey
09-20-2009, 8:35 PM
Yeh, I'm interested in more info on the battery as well.

Mind you the big open space in the frame would bug me.

TemeculaTerry
09-21-2009, 6:09 AM